A Short Spaniard for Ailsa’s theme

Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week, is ‘Short’, and I immediately thought of one of the street performers I saw whilst wandering along Las Ramblas in Barcelona a few years ago.  I couldn’t quite work out what I was seeing. Was he a Jack-in-the-box, like the toy I once had as a child, which used to play ‘Pop Goes the Weasel’ before the little man inside popped up and sometimes gave me a fright? This ‘Juanito’ was much more scary than my child’s toy.

DSCF1618

I assumed that he was a poor old beggar, and was a bit concerned that it seemed rather rude to stand and stare at someone so ugly and deformed. Then a woman boldly marched across and put money in his pot, and he suddenly stood up. He was now no longer short, but scarily tall. I really can’t imagine how he folded himself up like that. Was he perhaps made of rubber?

DSCF1617

To see more bloggers’  interpretations of Ailsa’s  theme, just click here.

75 comments on “A Short Spaniard for Ailsa’s theme

  1. This is an interesting one Sylvia. I’ve seen a fair few street performers in Covent Garden when I lived in London but I don’t remember seeing one like this. Mmm, this will have me guessing for a while I think.. 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

