Thursday’s Lingering Windows: Savannah GA

Last night we stayed in a lovely 19th century hotel near the wharf in Savannah, Georgia. I’m sure the windows on the ferry look lovely at night, with the twinkling lights all around them.

DSCN7142

The restaurant at our hotel, was in the basement and was decked out for Christmas. We had a window seat, but the view out of it was only of a few ferns and the grating in the sidewalk above.

DSCN7082

This morning before setting off on our travels again, we took a walk along the waterfront and found a few more windows. This was my favourite,

DSCN7119 but this one was also quite pretty.

DSCN7157

I loved the old wooden shutters on this one.

DSCN7124

The windows on this old trolley bus were rolled down, because of the cold weather, and although you can’t see them, I saw that it was full of people dressed up as Santas and Elves.

DSCN7118

We did go inside the candy store, but the delicious sweet smell was quite enough to add the inches, so we resisted the temptation to buy.

DSCN7147

I hope you’ve enjoyed my windows. To see more, you can visit Dawn’s blog right here.

We now have about four hours travelling to reach the town of King George, where we will spend the night. Once again, my internet access along the road is very patchy, and I’m finding it so frustrating, as I could have caught with all of you whilst I’ve been sitting for hours and hours in the car. I just did this post sitting in Starbucks, sipping my Chai Latte and eating a delicious toasted Panini. I’ll catch up with some of you this evening.

 

 

 

 

 

58 comments on “Thursday’s Lingering Windows: Savannah GA

  1. Love Savannah and it must have been nice to see it decorated for Christmas. The last time we were there was in February on a cloudy day. You have inspired me and I know we have to return. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s always a treat to come across windows that are decorated for the holidays. They always bring a smile to my face. Thanks for sharing these. especially when your internet service is so spotty.

  3. molto bella l’atmosfera in questa cittadina che profuma di antico, la scelta delle finestre, ottima, ti invio qualche foto del mio shopping natalizio in Alto Adige, augurandoti un gelice prosegiomento di viaggio e sperando che internet sia piΓΉ buono con te πŸ™‚
    very nice atmosphere in this town that smells of old, the choice of Windows, excellent, you send some pictures of my Christmas shopping in South Tyrol, augurandoti a gelice travel prosegiomento and hoping that the internet is better with you


Comments can start a conversation. :)

