Another wonderful year just flew by.

“May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions.” ~ Joey Adams
Just popping in to wish you all a really happy and healthy 2014. Where did this year go to? I’ve been too busy to notice. My time has been spent in Florida, Belize, South Africa, England and Costa Rica, with a spectacular Rhine cruise thrown in during August. Yesterday, we returned from visiting family in New Jersey, and are now enjoying our ‘home alone’ peacefulness on this last day of the year. Tonight we’ll drink a toast to the New Year, and tomorrow I guess that life will continue as per usual, with no fanfare or undue excitement. At the end of February, we’ll be off to England for a week to visit my 100-year-old mom-in-law, who has seen in a whole century of new years, and doesn’t appear to intend changing that any time soon. March will see us back in our home on the south-east coast of South Africa, and of course I’m so looking forward to seeing my mom, sister, daughter and two grandchildren again.

I don’t make new year resolutions, but if I did make just one, it would be to smile even more than I do. Mother Teresa once said, “Every time you smile at someone, it’s an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.” So I wish you lots and lots of smiles in the coming year; great big ‘Dolly the dolphin’ smiles.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

“Let this coming year be better than all the others. Vow to do some of the things you’ve always wanted to do but couldn’t find the time for. Call up a forgotten friend. Drop an old grudge, and replace it with some pleasant memories. Vow not to make a promise you don’t think you can keep. Walk tall, and smile more. You’ll look ten years younger. Don’t be afraid to say, ‘I love you’. Say it again. They are the sweetest words in the world.” ~ Ann Landers

82 comments on “Another wonderful year just flew by.

  1. in questo anno meraviglioso ci hai trasmesso tanta serenità e tanta gioia, condividendo le tue emozioni e le tue foto straordinarie, un grazie grande, grande sperando per ancora un anno 2014 così intenso e splendido
    in this wonderful year we’ve sent a lot of serenity and joy, sharing your emotions and your extraordinary photos, a great thanks, great hoping for another year 2014 so intense and beautiful

  2. Happy New Year my friend! I’m happy to have ‘met’ you in the blogosphere and I look so forward to reading your posts and looking at all of the fabulous photos you take – it’s like I get to vacation with you. Safe travels and best wishes for a safe and happy 2014! CBXB and Ted

  3. I’m sure you’ll be sending out many sniles which will be reciprocated in abundance this year Sylvia !
    Wishing you a beautiful year ahead 🙂 xx

  4. Happy New Year, Thank you for your amazing posts! Love following your blog.
    “And now we welcome the new year, full of things that have never been”
    ― Rainer Maria Rilke

  5. Oh Sylvia! What great words and reminders! You have NO idea how appropriate!
    Wishing you all the best and many more happy travels in the coming year. Looks like I may be sending greetings from Latvia this year! Woohoo!!! 😀

  6. Wow, what an eventful year, Sylvia! 🙂
    I now smile at you and can easily say, I love you. I love how your blog makes me smile and how you share your beautiful world with us. For that I thank you! I love you for your comments and the support that you have shown me over the past year.
    Your a beautiful woman and I can see you smile. Happy New Year to you and your family. Hugs from Oz, Paula xxxx

  7. Happy New Year Sylvia – I hadn’t realised that you are from South Africa. March is a lovely time of year to visit. I look forward to reading about all your travels 🙂
    Jude xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

