Momma, where’s our lunch?

After yesterday’s 3 hour exhausting rehearsal, hubby collected me and took me out to lunch. I was ravenous, and ordered something I’ve never ordered before; steak and eggs with sausage and bacon. It just jumped out of the menu at me.Β  I think the piano playing uses up a lot of energy, and I felt the need for lots of protein.

IMG_4058

After eating that lot, I decided that we should take a nice long walk in the fresh air, so off we went to the Wakodahatchee Wetlands nature reserve just up the road. I have so many wonderful pics of the wildlife we saw there, which I’ll post another time, but for now, here are two youngΒ  and hungry Anhinga chicks, impatiently waiting for their lunch. (You can click on the photos to enlarge.)

DSCN7538

“Where is our food?” they ask their momma who is watching over them.

DSCN7537

Then their dad arrives with something to satisfy their hunger, and the two chicks compete to see who can have the first taste.

DSCN7557

The bigger of the two eventually wins out, and gets to stick his beak right down dad’s gullet, whilst his sibling awaits his turn at the sushi trough.

DSCN7553

I was less than impressed after yesterday’s rehearsal. I’d spent hours sorting out sheet music and word sheets for everyone, as the organiser claimed to be not computer literate enough to do this. After hours of practising the songs, I was quite happy with the result of my labours, but as the rehearsal progressed, my happiness dissipated. The lovely lady singers were very enthusiastic, but a couple of the older guys are very hard to please. They said that they’d listened to the songs on you tube, and thought we should add more words to the songs, to make them longer, and they also wanted to change the endings of the songs, which confused everybody, including me. The organiser has enlisted the help of one of our community members who is a professional show director, and is presently working on a presentation of ‘Fiddler on the Roof’ in a nearby town. He presented me with a whole sheaf of music score for the song, ‘Tradition’, which would take me weeks to work through. The pianist who is playing in his show, is an internationally renowned concert pianist, which obviously I am not. He then brought in his ‘Ghetto Blaster’ and played the backing track to the song, which sounded amazing, with the whole orchestra etc.. I told him that there’s no way that the piano and I can possibly replicate what he has on the recording, so maybe they should rather sing to the backing track. I’ll see what happens on Friday when we do the song again. Tonight I have a two hour rehearsal for another three of the songs, so we’ll see how that goes, and how many changes they want. As you may notice, I do hate the fact that they keep moving the goal posts.

101 comments on “Momma, where’s our lunch?

  1. Those are amazing pictures. I agree with your other readers about your timing – of the birds. I think you are a little late on your timing of the rehearsal issues. I would have quit early on in this poorly led production. I am SOMEWHAT sympathetic towards the leader because it is hard to lead, but he/she is not doing a good job when everyone pipes in so many changes after you have worked so hard. He/She needs to stick with their day job, and forget the world of production. I’m annoyed at them, and I don’t even know these folks! πŸ™‚ Love the post, though! πŸ™‚

      • Has it been called off? I wouldn’t be surprised. I’m so sorry you had to waste your time. In defense of him, I would have the same problem organizing a concert. I would have no idea how to go about it, and would rely on the help of others. A leader needs to take input, but have some idea where he/she is going, or it will flop! A strong leaders nows what will work, and then convinces others that they should get on his bus! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Optie. Yes, the presence of so many beautiful birds here, are a source of great joy to us. I have an update on the show, which I’ll write today after I find out exactly what’s going on, or rather, what ISN’T going on. πŸ™‚

  2. I love the pic of the chick digging down dad’s throat! About the music – I suggest you all get together and decide on the final version, Go with your gut, AD, and tell them they can’t keep changing things. Btw, the brunch looks delicious!

  3. Your post was such a treat Sylvia. I have never seen anhinga chicks and they are just adorable! So sorry to hear you are having such issues with rehearsals. 😦

  4. I can see why you need a lunch like that with all you have going on! Looks good to me and loved the photos too! Hope that those goal posts don’t keep moving, I know just what you mean about that, it is really annoying, and hope that things went better last night πŸ™‚ x

  5. That lunch you ate, looks like the type of lunch that can really bring up a lot of strength. It may not be for every day… but once in a while it’s really good to have a meal like that. The pictures of the birds are just delightful. Unfortunately, your problems with the show sound very difficult. It’s worse than moving the goal posts. It seems you have some experts there, who have a completely different vision of how the show should look and sound than what you’re working on. I think it might be worth you while to have a talk with the organizer. What might be right for one show, no matter how successful that one is, won’t work for another. And if you try to compete with a whole orchestra, you won’t be able to contribute your best. I have the feeling you’re being pushed into an impossible situation, and hope that someone will wake up soon.

  6. That is a delicious, satisfying meal. It’s a joy to see the bird family caring for their young and the sibling trying to get the food from each other. Hmm, kind of what is it in real life sometimes. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  7. LOvely big breakfast to work on one way and another Sylvia ! Super chick photos and walk to take your mind elsewhere .
    What …. are they …thinking of … some people just don’t know when to keep quiet . Unfortunately .

  8. Beautiful captures of such lovely birds Sylvia. I do hope they get everything sorted out with the rehearsal so you could be as awesome as ever hon. πŸ˜€ *hugs*

  9. Love the photo and the birds look identical to those we get here…
    The concert is sounding like a “too many chiefs in the kitchen” affair, which must be very disconcerting… but we know you will be the concert pianist they expect…

  10. It seems to me that your good nature is being taken advantage of. Hate it when folks do that when you’re only volunteering out of the goodness of your heart. How thrilling to see the anhinga chicks. Who knew that they were so white compared to their parents.
    It amazes me that you keep your trim figure with this sort of breakfast AND the marvelous pastries you produce! What’s your secret?

    • Thanks, Gunta. I think I do lean to the ‘being too accommodating’ side, and get taken advantage of. Probably a throwback from my upbringing. 😦 It did go better last night, almost certainly because one person was absent from the rehearsal.
      I don’t know how I managed to lose 2lbs yesterday, after eating that huge meal. Maybe I should have steak and eggs more often. πŸ™‚

  11. That is a big lunch. Are you sure you are not on the treadmill and playing the piano at the same time πŸ™‚

    The bird pictures are awesome!

    Good luck with the tonight show too…

  12. colazione italiana cosΓ¬ diversa ha ha ha cornetto cappuccino e spremuta di arancio, non la credo meno sostanziosa…ma comunque buon appetito ( io non la mangerei mai hi hihi) le foto degli uccelli per contro sono veramente deliziose
    sono curiosa di sentire il resto sugli studi del pianoforte!
    un grande abbraccio cara Silvia
    Italian breakfast so different ha ha ha cappuccino and croissant with orange juice, not the think less hearty … but anyway enjoy your meal (I don’t ever eat hi hihi) bird photos by contrast are truly delicious
    I’m curious to hear the rest of piano studies!
    a big hug dear Silvia

  13. looks like an awesome lunch…good for you!!! sounds like a bit of a trying rehearsal…can’t please everyone, right! Those birds are so cute…they look large for chicks…or maybe they are almost ready to leave the nest?

  14. Breakfast looks tasty — heavy but tasty. When you photograph the servings you claim to eat I alway wonder how you stay so slim. Must be the piano? I have been the pianist at a small church for a decade or more and know exactly what you mean about moving the goals. After the organist and I get the hymns ironed out we used to have a pastor that would change them out at a moment’s notice. That was difficult for me as I am not a quick study … it takes me time to work out a piece. It was a lesson in forgiving though? πŸ™‚
    Connie

    • Thanks, Connie. This was actually my lunch. I had already had cereal, berries and yoghurt for breakfast. πŸ™‚ I also was a church pianist and organist, and had the same problems. I remember once that they put a song on the overhead projector, for which I had no music at all, and I had to make it up on the spur of the moment. 😯

  15. I haven’t seen Anhinga chicks – I’m amazed they are so white. How beautiful. Great photos – keep us posted on the rehearsals. πŸ™‚

  16. Great fresh air photos of the Anhingas in action, Sylvia. Just sorry for the spoilers in the group. I will keep my fingers crossed.for a successful ending to this story. Just keep hubby taking you out for nourishment. πŸ™‚

  17. A plate of comfort, I would enjoy that too …. And I would enjoy your walk to and be able to watch the bird feeding – plus I’m sure you will make work with your piano playing …. Good luck!!!!!

  18. Wonderful photos. How fun to see the two babes in the nest. Wishing you luck in the pianist role…..sounds like too many chefs in the kitchen. Keep burning those calories.

  19. Hmm, I would be getting very, but very annoyed. In my meat eating days I was partial to a mixed grill style breakfast – minute steak, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, lamb chop/cutlet, kidneys, and anything else I could get down my greedy gullet. Breakfast is still the hardest vegetarian meal for me to cook. I never know what I want.

    Chicks must have been a great chill out though.

  20. After the day you had rehearsing with hard to please folks, even I would crave protein. Glad you had a chance to catch some fresh air though! Refresh your energy πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

