Frizz’s A-Z Archive: ‘B’ is for Blarney

Today, my attention was caught by Frizztext’s challenge on the letter ‘B’. I recently came across a photo of me taken a good many years ago on one of our visits to family in Ireland. Of course, one of the things which I absolutely had to do, was kiss the ‘Blarney Stone’ (Cloch na Blarna).

I’d heard and read so much about this block of bluestone, which in 1446, was built into the battlements of Blarney Castle near Cork. Kissing this stone is said to endow a person with the ‘Gift of the Gab’, which is the gift of eloquent speech, or the art of flattery or deception without causing offense. In order to touch the stone with one’s lips, it’s necessary to go to the very peak of the castle, and then lean over backwards on the parapet’s edge. Luckily for me, wrought iron guard rails and safety bars had been installed, but in the olden days, participants were just grasped by the ankles and dangled over the abyss. I don’t think I’d have been quite so keen, if that had been the case. I wouldn’t recommend this for anyone who is afraid of heights.

IMG_0040

To see more entries for Frizz’s challenge, just go here.

75 comments on “Frizz’s A-Z Archive: ‘B’ is for Blarney

  1. YOU DON’T NEED THIS! …. I NEED TO DO THAT!
    πŸ˜†
    You already have the gift of gab (I first heard that phrase from John Cochran of Survivor Caramoan)

  2. This brought back fun memories, Sylvia. I’m one of those people who is afraid of heights, but finally mustered up the courage to kiss the Blarney Stone. it took about 10-15 minutes of coaxing though. πŸ™‚

  3. I too climbed Blarney Castle to kiss the Blarney stone not knowing that I was going to have to dangle over the edge of the parapet to do so. But I did not let my fear of heights prevent me from going ahead and giving the old stone a bit of an upside down smooch πŸ™‚

  4. I imagine there is always along queue Sylvia πŸ˜‰ who wouldn’t want the ‘gift of the gab’
    Glad you had something to hang on to Lol

    • Hahaha. Talking of ‘gift of the gab’ jokes. “Paddy was tooling along the road one fine day when the local policeman, a friend of his, pulled him over.

      “What’s wrong, Seamus?” Paddy asked.
      “Well didn’t ya know, Paddy, that your wife fell out of the car about five miles back?” said Seamus.

      “Ah, praise the Almighty!” Paddy replied with relief. I thought I’d gone deaf!” πŸ™‚

      • Oh, haha! Paddy might have enjoyed a moment of silence but will miss that buzzing noise when he’s hungry for breakfast! I do LOVE Ireland, and I think you were a great sport for kissing the stone. πŸ™‚
        Happy Memories to you!

  5. molto divertente, anche se non credo a queste superstizioni sono certa lo avrei fatto anche io, per pura sfida
    πŸ™‚
    very funny, although I do not believe these superstitions I am sure I would have done myself, out of sheer challenge

  6. So that is not for me! I have a terrible fear of heights and I don’t need the gift of the gab. I believe in the Afrikaans saying: “‘n toe bek is ‘n heel bek!” Roughly translated: “A closed mouth is a whole mouth”.

  7. Dude! What a picture. It tripped me out because I had no idea what you were doing I had to stop and check you out! That’s what a great picture is supposed to do … stop and make an impact. Nice job. πŸ™‚ You must have had a blast on that trip.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

