Sunday Stills: F is for Flip-Flops

I took this pic at one of our local waterfront restaurants. It typified to me, the laid back lifestyle that we have here in Florida, with a climate that allows for the wearing of flip-flops all the year round.

IMG_3401

The name “flip-flop” originated because of the slapping sound that is made between the sole of the foot and the floor when walking in them. This style of footwear has been worn by the people of many cultures throughout the world, originating with the ancient Egyptians as far back as 4,000 B.C, and depictions of flip-flops are to be found in murals adorning the walls of Egyptian tombs and temples. The oldest known pair, made from papyrus, is on display at the British Museum. I doubt that there is a single South African who doesn’t own at least one pair of flip-flops, andΒ  I’ve been wearing them since the 1970’s, when we emigrated there from England. The ones I wear everyday as slippers, are a pair of Havaianas, which I’ve had for about three years. I thought they were quite a recent phenomenon, and didn’t realise that this brand which are sold even in such upmarket stores as Bloomingdales and Niemann Marcus, actually celebrates its 50th birthday this year, and was once the workaday footwear of the Brazilian poor. What a great success story! How many pairs of flip-flops do you own? I just checked my closet, and was shocked to find that I have seventeen pairs, varying from beach flat casuals, to gold and silver evening ones with heels.

To see more entries for Ed’s Sunday Stills Challenge, just click here.

96 comments on “Sunday Stills: F is for Flip-Flops

  1. Great photo…Now that I’m here in mellow FL, I need to undress my toes. So far, I have only two pairs of Reefs from my north house, both black. Any faves? I love Zappos…my search turned up almost 2000 choices!

  2. I do own a pair of Teva flip-flops but I have stopped wearing any others besides them since I read that they are not really so good for your feet. I do love the look of them however.

  3. They are also great for travel in dodgy places as you can wear them in the dirty showers…They are certainly a foot wear of choice in Australia. Though I have to admit I only possess one pair, I wear them till they die then get another pair, after all you can only wear one pair of shoes at a time…. πŸ™‚

  4. We can always spot the tourists here because they are ones walking around wearing flip flops and T shirts when the locals like us are freezing.
    I guess if you are on vacation you don’t pay any attention to the thermometer. πŸ˜•

    • Well maybe the tourists are from much cooler climes, and they think your weather is warm. I remember when we emigrated from England to Johannesburg, I used to wear shorts and T-shirt in mid winter, when the locals were all bundled up in jackets and scarves. After while, my blood thinned out, and I noticed the cold winter temps, but it took a couple of years. πŸ™‚

      • Oh that’s absolutely the case Sylvia. We sometimes watch in shock and horror as vacationers from up North will actually wade into the ocean while we shiver just looking at them.
        We also used to live in a colder climate but don’t think we could survive it now. πŸ™‚

  5. I used to wear slip slops (mainly South African terminology, I think) a lot, but now prefer ones with no thong and a single adjustable strap over the arch of the foot.
    I went running barefoot in midwinter in UK during our visits, though. It was easier than gumboots.

  6. LIke Dianne Gray we used to call them thongs, too. My mom lived in them and nothing else even in the middle of the winter in Indiana. I don’t own a pair believe it or not. I can’t stand the feel.

  7. 2 pairs to your 17 tally Sylvia !
    But tell me ..why do so many people lose just ONE flip flop at the sea side … most beach combing sessions turn up endless flip flops with no partners πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: Sunday Stills, the next challenge: The Letter F | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. I love my flip flops… when one side breaks you just take another that is ok… the mixing of colours only upsets Linda… nobody has ever stopped me to ask if I knew I had two different colours on… lol

  10. That sure is one big flip flop Sylvia! πŸ˜€
    I love sandals and flip flops. Thanks for sharing hon and have a great day. *hugs*

  11. Hi Sylvia, I’ve got about 6 pairs of flip flops! In Oz, we call them thongs.
    I have some good ones and then the trusted old cheap ones for going out the front and back door. I love the photo of these ones very much! Hugs Paula xxxx

  12. Blue flip flops on my feet as I write this. I only wear them at home, though, as I can’t drive with them on. I remember the “shoes”, made of car tyres that the Africans used to wear. Don’t see those any more.

  13. It’s good to know it’s warm enough elsewhere to wear flip-flops. My Sunday Still for F was Frozen!
    Thanks for giving us a bit of the history of flip-flops – I had no idea that they are old enough to be revered; or that they come with heels for that matter! πŸ™‚

    • Always warm enough here for sandals. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed the bit of history. The ones with heels probably couldn’t be classed as flip-flops; more open sandals with a thong between the toes. πŸ™‚

  14. I have three pairs, of the beach casual style – oh no, make that two pairs because my favourite ones bit the dust last summer. I was very sad. I wear them a lot of the time in the summer, including indoors as my ‘slippers’. I thought owning three pairs at once was quite a luxury, but as you have 17 pairs, I don’t feel quite so bad! πŸ™‚

  15. What a fascinating post about flip-flops! I have never owned any as I hate the way they rub between my toes, I used to wear clogs, then Greek leather sandals and more recently Birkenstocks!

  16. Love this shot Sylvia! I think that flip flops have definitely become more popular in the UK as a lot of people wear them as soon as things warm up! I can’t wear them all the time time due to a foot problem I developed a couple of years ago ( which is now resolved but don’t want a repeat!) so I just wear them around the house in the summer, or at the beach of course!

  17. I own several, but my favorites are a pair of light blue ones that are no longer available and it’s killin’ me! I live in those things come summer and sometimes even wear them around the house in the winter. Ridiculous, I know. But it brings a little summer my way, when summer is way down the road. 😦
    Interesting info. Pretty flippity flop. πŸ˜‰

Comments can start a conversation. :)

