Cee’s FFC: Wondrous finds on an afternoon’s Nature Walk

“In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.”~ John Muir

For Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge this week, I have a few pics of the amazing creatures I found on my walk in a Florida nature reserve. (Click on any image to enlarge.)

First up is is the undisputed King of the entire outfit sleeping the day away, oblivious to all his subjects who are going about their daily business, and the stares of us visitors to his kingdom.

DSCN7580

These large, juicy fish, are  very wisely keeping well out of his way.

DSCN7570

Two Great Blue Herons sit huddled together, sharing secrets.

DSCN7596

Baby Anhingas wait impatiently for their afternoon sushi snack,

DSCN7538

and their uncle is drying off his wings after a fishing expedition.

DSCN7594

Mr Turtle pops his head out to say “Hi.”

DSCN7509

The Common Gallinule practices walking the plank,

DSCN7512.

whilst the White Ibis community just hang out.

DSCN7468

The Boat-tailed Grackle with his glossy black feathers, sparkles in the afternoon sun.

DSCN7488

Mrs Spider has created a most impressive web to ensure that her fine dining needs are well catered for.

DSCN7498

The Tricolored Heron has a reflective moment as he shares his place in the sun with a couple of pond-weed covered turtles.

DSCN7517

It’s just another lazy afternoon for this most handsome of fellows, who just has to be the absolute ultimate in ‘Lounge Lizards’.

DSCN7545

I saw so many wonderful creatures in nature as I ambled around the boardwalks, and I also kept a look out for the lion which I’d spied on my last visit. He was still there, although I’m sure most visitors walked over him without noticing his cute face peering up at them.

DSCN7469

I hope you enjoyed your nature walk with me. To see more entries for Cee’s Challenge, click on the badge below.

cees-fun-foto

71 comments on “Cee’s FFC: Wondrous finds on an afternoon’s Nature Walk

  1. Aww …. the Baby Anhingas are so very cute. The turtle looks like he wasn’t happy. Of course, they never smile. ~~~ : – ) The lounge lizard very primitive looking. The first time I saw one here I was paralyzed with fear. Nice shots …!!!

  2. Great finds indeed Sylvia and all so beautiful! My favourite is the Iguana. He is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing hon. 😀 *hugs*

  3. Wow, lovely photos. I haven’t heard of anhingas or grackles before. Are they native to Florida? My favourite out of this collection is the photo of the Great Blue Herons. They look like they are discussing something confidential!

  4. Aw those Baby Anhingas with their downy fluff Sylvia …
    SO many lovely photo opportunities, it must have been stop start all the way round 😉
    A more appealing Lion I’ve not seen for sometime .. what a 😦 expression

  5. These are wonderful shots and story to keep us scrolling. You must know those animals personally to get them to pose so beautifully for you. It looks like the turtle just came up to say hi. How fun. Thanks for saving the lion for last. I was asking myself, “Do they really have big cats with all those animals just lounging around? How did they get there? I’m so gullible! We actually did see a mountain lion sitting like a giant house cat by the side of the road the other day. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Sylvia 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

