Wordless Wednesday: Wow… Look at me now!

Today was the first time I’ve seen our Great Blue Heron posing this way.Β  Do you think he was just warming his belly in the sunshine, or has he been practising yoga, and finally mastered the Buddha pose?

DSCN7640

Wordless-Wednesday-Button-150

100 comments on “Wordless Wednesday: Wow… Look at me now!

  1. We refer to that as the classic”flasher” pose. πŸ™‚
    I believe the heron does that as part of thermo regulating it’s body temperature. With the wings in that position they can act like a dish to direct warm sun into the center of it’s body. It is also possible they might do this if they are too hot and the wing position may direct heat away from the body so it works both ways.
    I did a post showing this last fall.
    http://phillanoue.com/2013/10/30/it-wasnt-me-it-was-that-other-bird/

  2. hehe Whatever he’s doing, he’s proud of doing it. He’s already bragging. Maybe he’s just kind of weird talking to himself as he “flashes and stretches,” or maybe he’s got a cell phone ear bud in there somewhere we can’t see it, and he’s talking to his girl. He’s definitely got the body language going. Whatever he’s doing, he’s been exposed to all of us! πŸ™‚ Funny pic,

  3. Oh, don’t worry. I’m a master of heron body language. He’s saying “Check out this badboy”.

    It’s fairly common parlance in the heron world. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve never seen one of these even when I was down in Florida with my sister. Nice capture. I wonder if they stay that way a long time, sort of doing their yoga thing.

  5. LOL Sylvia. I am laughing at all the ‘shocking’ comments now. They are such pervs aren’t they? Ark especially. Dirty minds! πŸ˜†

    This is a stunning shot and I googled about it and it seems : ”Droops and exposes inside of wings on sunny days, perhaps to radiate body heat on warm days and absorb solar radiation on cool days (Kahl 1971, Larkins 1989)” http://stevecreek.com/strange-behavior-of-a-great-blue-heron/.

  6. There must have been a lady Heron around! He’s just welcoming her with open wings! Here I am, honey, he says with a big smile. Krags and the Ark have a one track mind πŸ˜‰

Comments can start a conversation. :)

