Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Romance

Ailsa’s travel theme this week, is ‘Romance’, and on Valentine’s evening, love and romance were definitely in the air at the dinner dance we attended. The red carpet was out to welcome us.

There were many elderly couples there, and I was happy to note that no matter how old we may be, or how many years we’ve been married, that exciting partner ‘Romance’ is really happy to tag along. My sweet neighbours across the street are both 90 years old, and yet there she was, petite and lovely, in her bright red dress, dancing up close with her husband ofΒ  almost seventy years, and the look of love was so evident in their eyes, as the band played this song, which in my opinion is one of the most romantic songs of all time. It brought tears of joy to my eyes, just watching them.

To see more entries for Ailsa’s Challenge, just click on the badge below.

wheres-my-backpack

102 comments on “Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Romance

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme – Romance – Endless Skys

  2. Just like I remember the song ‘a long legged woman in a red dress’ πŸ™‚ When I checked though it’s actually ‘a long cool woman in a black dress’ 😦 Prefer my memories πŸ™‚

  3. Sylvia – you have captured Romance with a capital *R* with your pictures and story there πŸ™‚
    PS You look terrific …

  4. Don’t you just love seeing the “elderly” dancing up a storm! I think they are the ones that really know how to dance, know how to be romantic and for sure know how to have a fun time. It looks like you had a fantastic evening!

  5. Looks like a beautiful evening! Romance never dies … Sadly I was away on Valentines Day, so missed out … but I did see my new grandson and got my cuddles there … πŸ˜€

  6. Pingback: Travel Theme – Romance | Endless Skys

  7. It must have been a wonderful evening…I love that song, fitting for the occasion…I enjoyed hearing about your neighbours, such an awesome thing to hear about!

  8. What a fun evening! I have to tell you, you look like the perfect valentine in that spiffy red dress. I love the image of your 90 year old neighbors with the spark of love still strong after 70 years. A wonderful post, Sylvia.

  9. Showcasing romance with beautiful photos of a gala evening Valentine celebration.
    You look fabulous. The roses must have created fragrance all through the room. I see a dance floor – was there dancing? I hope so. A lovely way to celebrate is having your sweetie hold you on a dance floor.
    Happy Valentine’s Day !!!!
    Issy xo

  10. Lovely Lady in Red – what a great way to celebrate romance. We don’t do anything like that over here. Well as my OH doesn’t dance it would be fairly pointless πŸ˜€
    Oh, and I’m having that cheesecake please…
    Jude xx

  11. Oh what a wonderful night Sylvia, loved reading about it! Love your red dress, you go girl πŸ˜‰ How romantic too about your elderly neighbours, boy, that is what it’s all about isn’t it? I love this song too, it brought back many memories…

  12. Hi Sylvia,
    It certainly looked liked the perfect setting and food looked so good as well, I am sure you did not go for the healthier option πŸ™‚ I am sure you had a wonderful evening and nothing nicer than just sitting watching people – I can do that for hours!

    Just come back from from a short break down your side in SA! Umhlanga/Ballito it was lovely and as always (or most times) the weather was hot and lovely.

    Take care and regard
    GAIL

  13. That looks like the perfect setting, beautiful and of course you chose the cheese cake…. don’t need to choose the healthy option all the time….. πŸ™‚ Glad you had a great evening! It is so beautiful to see the older generation so in love! It warms your heart to see their love !

Comments can start a conversation. :)

