Time to say goodbye.

Our time here in Florida is almost over. We leave on Wednesday for South Africa, stopping off in England for a few days to visit my 100-year-old mom-in-law. I’m really going to miss being here. This morning, I walked out into my back yard and just gazed in wonder at the stillness and the beauty.

DSCN8043

The Bromeliads we planted a few weeks ago are looking so lovely.

DSCN8052

I hope the irrigation system doesn’t go on the blink whilst we’re away, like it did last time. I’d hate to lose these beauties.

DSCN8051

I’m really going to miss seeing my feathered neighbours. The Great Egret usually comes stalking past whilst I’m eating breakfast.

DSCN5078

Mr Great Blue Heron who is a regular visitor on my blog, was right over the other side of the lake this morning, but I did manage a quick shot as he basked in the morning sunshine.

DSCN8059

Yesterday he looked quite a different shape altogether, as his beady eyes scanned the water for a tasty morsel.

DSCN5401

I was quite pleased with how this pic of his aerobatics turned out. It’s not easy to catch him in flight. Usually by the time I’ve got the camera ready, the moment has passed and he’s disappeared.

DSCN8036

He does of course have to share his hunting ground with the Anhinga, who is always on the look out for an unsuspecting fish.

DSCN8035

Our spectacular Florida sunsets will also have to go on without me, but I guess they’ll still be here when we return.

DSCN4931

So this will be my last post from this piece of paradise for a few months. We land in Johannesburg in a week’s time, and then it’s a one hour flight down to Durban. I’m really looking forward to seeing my sister and mom again, and also our beach. Later in March, we’ll be going to visit our daughter and family for our grandson’s 15th birthday.

Hubby has just gone to meet with the roofer to discuss the other house for which we’re considering putting in an offer, so we’ll see what transpires about that. I have a load of packing to do now, as well as preparing the house for our 6-8 month absence, so if you don’t see me in your likes and comments for a few days, please know that I will be back as soon as I can find some time to play again. Love and hugs to you all.

129 comments on “Time to say goodbye.

  1. I guess that the glamor of travel and seeing the world has one down side. The giving up of the things we love in the place we leave. You have so many beautiful photos from so many places, that it must be hard each place that you have to leave. πŸ™‚ Always love your outlook on life. πŸ™‚

  2. I said Welcome home earlier …. so Welcome Home to SA!!!!! You have some posh neighbors, 2 legged … how wonderful surrounding you have at both of your homes.
    Lucky you …

  3. Hello! Thank you for commenting (and following! wow!) on my blog. πŸ™‚ So you live in Florida part time! I’m in Florida, too, in Vero Beach, and absolutely love it here after living all of my life in Massachusetts.
    I look forward to looking through more of your blog!

  4. Hi Sylvia ! … As always, stunning photos from you … Mr Heron is a cutie and he is most welcome to visit me and my backyard πŸ˜‰ …
    Your last photo of the sunset is one of your best ! …
    Hope to hear from you soon … // Hugs from Maria πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

