A few days in Merry England

Our short stay with my mom-in-law in England was so enjoyable. The weather was much better than I was expecting, and there were definite signs of Spring.

DSCN8249

Her garden is so tranquil and even in winter, looks really lovely.

DSCN8248

A couple of weeks previous, there had been storms and gale-force winds, which had almost uprooted this poor tree.

DSCN8180

On the Sunday, it was righted again with the aid of a rope and a strong stake in the ground. It was given lots of water, and we’re holding thumbs that it will recover from its ordeal.Β  The old Magnolia tree in the front garden was bursting with buds, and I would love to be there when they all start to blossom.

DSCN8270

The lady of the house was delighted to have ten members of her family around the table for Sunday lunch, and was positively sparkling.

DSCN8264

I showed you a Florida sunset a few days ago, but England also has some really beautiful ones, and this was definitely worth a photograph.

DSCN8245

I’m sorry I haven’t visited you much lately, but I’m just getting my life back on track, after being away from here for seven months. I went with my sister to visit my dear mom yesterday. She has become really frail after suffering a bad bout of pneumonia late last year, and is now living in a care home. It was wonderful to see her face light up with joy to see me again. We took her out for lunch to her favourite restaurant, and she managed quite well with her walker. I was so proud of her, and you will of course be hearing more about her whilst I’m over here.

85 comments on “A few days in Merry England

  1. Sorry, to read about your mum – glad that she has got a bit better … with us elderly people we can never be too sure. *smile – great news that she is on her way back.

  2. So you have been back in UK – same as over here .. maybe a bit wetter. What a beautiful lady, your mother-in-law. And I love that little “cottage” back in the garden, so cute. Welcome home!

      • I thought it was a garden shed, far too pretty for it .. but why not. Lovely little cottage … so cute. *smile – She has a stunning garden too … who looks after it ??? Loads of work.

  3. What a magnificent English garden, Sylvia. It looks like something out of a story book πŸ˜€

    I’m glad your mom was able to go out to lunch with you, she must have been thrilled that you have returned πŸ˜‰

  4. I was moved by your post, a tale of two Moms, or Mums as it were. It was heartening to hear how your own mother responded in happiness at your visit with her, and I hope that you and she will have many more happy visits together now that you are back from Florida. Best, Babsje

  5. MIL does look rosy glowed how wonderful .
    Glad to see the little fairies are still dancing at the bottom of the garden πŸ˜‰
    I’m sure your Mum will have been perked up by your arrival by home Sylvia enjoy your family times … no one is going away this end πŸ™‚

  6. so happy to hear you are settling in safe and sound. Goodness that tree was lucky to survive. I can imagine how happy your mother was to see you…mothers are like that

  7. sono i momenti piΓΉ dolci e piΓΉ belli quelli passati con la tua eccezionale madre! Γ¨ guisto che ti sia preso tutto il tuo tempo, trovando ugualmente un modo per salutarci con le tue sempre splendide foto
    happy dau, cara Sylvia

    are the sweetest moments and most beautiful ones passed with your great mother! It is right that you took all your time, finding a way to greet us with your always great pictures

  8. happy to read that all is well. lovely pictures as always… and am so jealous of your mom-in-laws garden. there’s still a lot of snow here although we should have a bit of thaw today. good to see you blogging again!

  9. There must be times when you can’t quite remember where you are when you wake up, Ad! Enjoy your family time. Dina and Klaus have it right with their slow blogging, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

  10. Take your time, Sylvia. Your time with your mom and getting settled in are more important right now. I know she was thrilled to see you. πŸ™‚ Are those primroses in the round planter? Lovely. Beautiful English sunset.

    • Thanks, Lynne. Yes, we’re going to have lots of family times whilst we’re here. Unfortunately it’s too far to see her every day, but we’ll definitely make it twice a week. We’re all going to my sister’s for Sunday lunch, and I’m making her favourite chocolate pie. I’m sure she’ll really enjoy that. πŸ™‚ The flowers in the pot are Primulas.

    • Thanks, Linda. It’s actually not a little cottage, but quite a large three bedroomed double storey house where she lives alone, even at 100 years old. πŸ™‚ The little ‘cottage’ is the garden shed. πŸ˜€

  11. We do indeed have some lovely gardens and sunsets here in the UK Sylvia and you captured them beautifully! So glad that you got to see your own mum too πŸ™‚

  12. What a lovely couple of days you had before continuing your journey home. The garden is indeed tranquil and must be beautiful in the spring when everything is in bloom.

  13. Beautiful garden. Very English πŸ˜€ I like magnolia too, a lovely tree with perfect blossom. I’m sure your visit would have made your mum’s day, and hopefully with your return and more visits from you, her health will improve.

    • Thank you so much, Paula. I’m hoping to bring my mom to stay with us for a few days, but I’m not sure she would manage the stairs. We’ll just have to hope that she gets stronger. πŸ™‚

  14. Hi Sylvia,
    Lovely to have you back again! your mom-in-law certainly looks wonderful for her age and sorry to hear that your mom has not been well, I wish her well.

    Enjoyed the photo’s and your post as always.

    Take care!
    GAIL

  15. I’m so glad to hear you’ve made it to the other side of the planet again. Your mother-in-law is simply amazing and a true inspiration. I bet it was a real treat to get to see your mum, too. I would imagine you were rather worried about her. It’s good to see you back to blogging again!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

