Just another Mongoose Monday.

Here in South Africa, we often get visits from our resident Banded Mongooses. This morning, I saw one on my birdbath. Just as I got my camera, he sensed my presence and decided to turn tail.

DSCN8308

He soon returned with his mate. Ah that’s better, safety in numbers.ย  They’re very timid creatures, and didn’t stay any longer than it took to have a few sips.

DSCN8304

I opened the sliding door, and stood waiting to see if they would return, and after a few seconds,ย  spotted a sweet little face peeking through the fence.

DSCN8309

He looked longingly up at the birdbath, trying to pluck up courage.

DSCN8310

Then he got really brave, and hopped up.

DSCN8313

Suddenly realising he was was being watched, he turned and gave me the look. “What do you think you’re staring at?”

DSCN8318

I decided to leave him in peace to quench his thirst, and went back to doing my housework, asking myself, “What is the plural of mongoose? Is it mongooses, mongeese, mongi, mongoosies, or simply mongoose?” What do you think?

104 comments on “Just another Mongoose Monday.

  1. che delizioso quadretto! davvero una serie incantevole
    in italiano il plurale รจ manguste…in inglese vedi tu ha ha

    that delicious picture! really a lovely series
    in Italian the plural ( manguste) mongooses? … in English see you ha ha

  2. What a cute little fellow he is! I have no idea what the plural is but I’m assuming it’s mongooses because that’s what you wrote (and I believe everything you say) ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Aww, that cute little face peeping through the fence! That is a lovely shot, Ad.
    In Polish they often add ‘i’ to make a plural so just for the fun of it, I’m going with mongoosi. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nah, it doesn’t look right, does it?

  4. You have got a new playmate I can see … he is just adorable – I would love to class this monkey business, but it’s not … right. Fantastic shots you captured of him.

  5. i would go with mongeese, but I could be basing that on their flying cousins! He looks so cute and timid, and a little bit of mischief in those eyes I think ๐Ÿ™‚
    What a great way to be distracted from housework!

  6. What a lovely fella!!!!
    According to Wikipedia: “The word “mongoose” is derived from the Marathi name mungus (เคฎเฅเค‚เค—เฅ‚เคธ) (pronounced as [muล‹ษกuหs]), perhaps ultimately from Dravidian (cf. Telugu mungeesa (เฐฎเฑเฐ‚เฐ—เฐฟเฐธ), Kannada mungisi (เฒฎเณเฒ‚เฒ—เฒฟเฒธเฒฟ)). The form of the English name (since 1698) was altered to its “-goose” ending by folk-etymology.[3] It has no etymological connection with the word goose. The plural form is mongooses,[4] or, rarely, mongeese.[5] It has also been spelled “mungoose”. Take your pick!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Mongoose watching MUCH more interesting than housework Sylvia ๐Ÿ™‚
    He is cute one from those pictures . A comment in the visitor’s book at one of the cottages we stayed at recently was about keeping the doors shut because the ‘ mangoes ‘ will run in and out …. would have loved to have seen !

  8. It’s great to know that the population is thriving. If you leave them an egg or two, and you have patience, you could get some marvellous photographs. Very funny to watch them bouncing eggs off walls ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Mostly, after googling (cheater!) it appears that mongooses is the preferred, but preferred by whom? I kind of like mongeese. But then I can be arbitrary. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    These pix are adorable!

  10. I think they are mongooses Sylvia. Cute characters, though they can make a real mess of a rubbish bin! We have some critter digging up our containers at the moment and scattering soil all over the place – thought it was a bird, but now thinking it might be squirrels! (I shall have to get up early and see if I can catch it in the act)
    Jude xx

  11. I’m voting Mongeese because then perhaps they are related to our Canadian Geese. Dont look much alike though. ๐Ÿ™‚ So cute! Do they cause any damage to the property?

Comments can start a conversation. :)

