WPC: Monkey Business at the Threshold

Sadly, my mom is not strong enough to come down to the seaside to visit us, so today, we took lunch up to my sister’s house and spent a lovely time there with the family. After a couple of hours, mom’s energy started to flag, and we had to take her back to the care home where she now lives. Every time we drive up to the threshold of the home, we are met by an assortment of monkeys, and today was no exception.

In the car park were two Vervet monkeys taking it in turns to preen one another.

IMG_4494

At the entrance gate,Β  a whole family were doing guard duty.

IMG_4246

As we were about to enter the building. I spotted this one hanging out in a tree.

IMG_4495

There were also two cute baby ones, but they scuttled off before I could snap their picture. We put mom to bed for her afternoon nap, and then drove back down the hill to our home by the sea.

IMG_4415

As we came over the hill, and the Indian Ocean sprang into view, I was thinking about the fact that hubby and I are on the threshold of a new adventure. We have accepted a very good offer on our house, and will be selling up here in the next three months. This has been on the cards for three years now, ever since we bought our home in Florida, but yesterday, the right person walked over our threshold, fell in love with the house and decided that this is where she wants to live. The next three months are going to be quite hectic.

To join in the Weekly Photo Challenge, just click on the badge below.

wordpress-20141

91 comments on “WPC: Monkey Business at the Threshold

  1. Monkey business is better than no business at all !! *smile – great entry … And congratulations to the sale, that is what it is all about – the right person … just walks in. What about the house you looked in Florida ???

    • Thanks, Madhu. The property is on a lake, and we are still waiting to hear what the bank has decided. They are really dragging their heels, and we can’t imagine what is taking so much time, as it’s a cash offer, and I don’t think anyone else is bidding for it. The assessor was round at the house a couple of weeks ago, so we just have to wait for a reaction to his report. πŸ˜•

  2. You certainly are on the threshold of something big Sylvia, congratulations on the sale of your home, wow! Great take on this week’s theme, I’ve yet to do mine. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must be like to see monkeys in the wild like this. What an incredible country indeed πŸ™‚

  3. I rather thought this development would develop.
    *bitterly* At least you are moving because you want to.
    Best of luck – but you can have nothing LIKE the junk we have accumulated.

  4. A new move, I wish you the best of luck. I know how hectic and daunting that can be. Sorry to hear that your mum isnΒ΄t doing to well at the moment. Sending her well wishes. I loved the monkeys, I think you should try and bring one of them with you, as a souvenir! Have a great day, Giana.

  5. oh my, you’re moving for good. I feel quite sad for some reason! just glad we can follow your new adventure on your blog. Wishing you well with the move πŸ™‚

  6. Wishing you a smooth process through it all Sylvia . It’s surprising what unnecessary clutter one accumulates over the years which can suddenly can be dispensed swiftly given a good enough reason .
    Lots to juggle … but you do seem to like a challenge πŸ˜‰
    One permanent home in the US with just a plane ride away from family sounds brilliant .

  7. Wow, just like that? How exciting. A bit daunting, too, I’m sure. Sounds like impetus for action and all will get accomplished. All the best to you and your husband on your new adventure. xxoo

  8. Congratulations on the sale of your home Sylvia, although I’m sure it will be difficult to be away from family, especially those who are elderly. Hope this transition goes well for you.

  9. una vita sempre in movimento, questo Γ¨ molto bello, ci vogliono le motivazioni e la possibilitΓ  di poterlo fare, a me piace moltissimo viaggiare ma la mia bella casa qui in toscana col mio giardino che amo curare personalmente…non sarei mai capace di poterla lasciare, ne sono troppo innamorata! Auguro a te e tuo marito che ogni cambiamento sia per voi ancora piΓΉ appassionante e bello!
    le scimmiette sono veramente deliziose
    buona domenica, cara

    a life always on the move, this is very nice, it takes motivation and the ability to do that, I really like to travel but my nice House here in Tuscany with my garden that I love to treat myself … I would never be able to leave, I’m too much in love! I wish you and your husband that every change is even more exciting for you and nice!
    the monkeys are truly delicious
    buona domenica, cara

  10. I was thinking that you sound a little tired with all the to-ing and fro-ing, Ad. But presumably you’ll still be back to check on Mum and the family? Thresholds! They loom sometimes, don’t they? πŸ™‚
    I like your little friends.

    • Thanks, Jo. Yes you’re right about thresholds suddenly looming up. This one came as a bit of a shock. I expected, and was secretly hoping that it would take much longer to sell the house. πŸ™‚

  11. Sounds like you’re in for quite an adventure Sylvia. I am sure you are going to enjoy it hon. Love the monkeys. Always good to see them in other places as well and you captured them so beautifully. Take care. πŸ˜€ β™₯ Hugs β™₯

  12. Oh my. You two are brave souls, but no doubt a lot of thought has gone into all this prior to the decisions . May the transition be a smooth one. I so enjoy your posts.

    • Thanks, Connie. Well, it’s not such a big transition, as we’re already well established in Florida and have a wide circle of friends waiting for us to come back. It’s hard to leave family here, but the world is a small place these days, and we’re only a plane ride away. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the good wishes, Carol. We’ve been living half the the year in Florida for three years now, and have so many friends there already. It actually now feels more like home than this does, but it’s still hard to actually sell up here, as we’ve had the house for 15 years. Lots of sorting out to do in the next few weeks. 😯

  13. It does seem you’re at another threshold, Sylvia – best wishes for a stress-less-as-possible transition to your new lives. Sad about your Mum, but fun to think of her in the same moment as those cute little monkeys! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much, Meredith. Yes, it is sad about my mom, but she is in a wonderful facility and her carers are so kind and attentive. My sister is only a 15 minute drive away, so I know mom is in very good hands and exactly where she needs to be. πŸ™‚

  14. so many changes, it is that time of life isn’t it …. will you be full time in the US? Knowing you there will always lots of time for travel and photographing gorgeous views and darling animals like these monkeys!

    • Yes it is that time of life, Christine. We have to make the most of the time allotted to us. We will spend most of our time in the US, but will have to make family visits to England and South Africa too.

  15. “Every time we drive up to the threshold of the home, we are met by an assortment of monkeys, and today was no exception.”

    I only *wish* I could make a statement like that about going to visit my mom in the facility where she resides. πŸ™‚

    Best of luck with the upcoming move Sylvia!

  16. Congratulations on the house sale Sylvia and your new adventure, hope it all goes through OK. Sounds very exciting. Are you permanent residents of the USA then?

      • One of my sons is an Australian citizen, but that doesn’t help me to get a visa, sadly, as I’d move there tomorrow 😦 Considering we could live there without a visa 40 years ago I find this very frustrating.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

