Marvelous Monuments I have seen.

There have been so many monuments that I have longed to see, and when I eventually got there, I was not disappointed. I’ve seen the inscrutable Great Sphinx of Giza, gazing out across the desert.

IMG_0004

I’ve perused assorted pyramids standing proud under Cairo’s relentless sun.

IMG_0018

The Statue of Christ the Redeemer, perched atop the peak of Corcovada in the pouring rain, was a very moving sight.

DSCF0309

However, the monument which really blew my socks off, was none other than the humongous memorial to presidents George Washington, Theodore Roosevelt, Thomas Jefferson and Abraham Lincoln, carved into the granite face of Mount Rushmore. As we drove out of Keystone and headed up towards Mount Rushmore National Memorial, I didn’t know quite what to expect, but coming round the bend at the top of the hill, suddenly there it was in all it’s amazing glory. Absolutely breathtakingly stunning!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course once we’d parked and walked up to view this amazing sculpture, I was even more bowled over by its enormity, the lifelike features, and the fact that the eyes seemed to be looking straight at me.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

For me, this was the monumentΒ  which surpassed every other I’d seen, hands down. The entire memorial covers 1,278.45 acres, and the sculptures are 60 foot high. Here is a view from the side, showing the back of the memorial.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s very easy to get a bit blasΓ© about monuments we’ve seen, and I know I’m guilty of this, but my first sight of Mount Rushmore is something I will never forget.

To see more entries for the Weekly Photo Challenge, just click on the badge below.

wordpress-20141

 

 

 

 

 

 

92 comments on “Marvelous Monuments I have seen.

    • Yes, books, and now the internet are marvelous tools for seeing the wonders of the world, but nothing beats actually being there. Thank so much for your visit, Carl. Have a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚

  1. Duuuuuuuuuuuuuude. It amazes me all the places you’ve been! Being able to see the Great Sphinx and The Redeemer statue is so awesome. Those are lifetime trips for sure. And the Mt. Rushmore pic is very cool. I’m embarrassed to say that I have yet to make the road trip to see the presidents. But it’s on the list πŸ™‚

  2. l’Egitto e la sua straordinaria storia sono una delle mie piΓΉ grandi passioni, anche se la sua immagine piΓΉ bella l’ho vista in un museo a Berlino, il busto della regina Nefertiti, ho visto anche le grandi sculture dei presidenti negli USA, io perΓ² amo cose piΓΉ piccole, non sono ancora mai stata in Brasile, Γ¨ una delle mete che mi propongo, ma non quest’anno spero di andare in estremo oriente
    le immagini sono straordinarie, mia cara

    the Egypt and its extraordinary history are one of my biggest passions, even if its the most beautiful picture I saw in a Museum in Berlin, the bust of Queen Nefertiti, I also saw the great sculptures of Presidents in USA, I still love the smaller stuff, I’m still never been to Brazil, is one of the destinations that I proposebut not this year I hope to go to far East
    the pictures are wonderful, my dear

    • Thank you so much, Ventis. I also love to look at small artifacts in museums. It’s so fascinating to see how the people of long ago, lived. I look forward to your posts of the Far East. πŸ™‚ Have a lovely day. xx

  3. Having been to Egypt, I’ve seen a couple of the monuments you high-lighted and, as thrilled as I was, that first glimpse of Mt Rushmore was truly breathtaking. I was so not prepared for the sight of it.

  4. So many monuments to see, but to have those three most monumental ones on your list must be pride-worthy. I’m actually surprised to see you rank Mount Rushmore to be the top. I guess I have to take your word for it. πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  5. Well Sylvia, you hit 2 of my hot buttons today, Egypt and Mt. Rushmore. What do they have in common you might ask? 2 of my bucket list items that I havent gotten to yet. Great shots, I’m jealous!!!

  6. You have indeed been lucky to have seen so many wonderful monuments. I like the last photo where you only see George Washington on Mount Rushmore as I’ve never seen that view captured before.

  7. This is amazing, Sylvia. I have never seen Mt. Rushmore, but it is on my bucket list. I saw the carvings of Confederate leaders outside Atlanta, and there is a connection between the artists. I’ll have to look it up to remember, but I think the first artist quit to go do Mt. Rushmore, and the Confederate carvings were done by a different artist. You’ve inspired me to do a monument post anyway! πŸ™‚

  8. Amazing that you’ve seen all these incredible monuments Sylvia. I’ve always wanted to see the Sphinx but after this perhaps I should be more excited about Mount Rushmore. Great photos πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

