Wash Day Paparazzi for the Clean Theme

Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week, is ‘Clean’, so I decided to air the clean laundry of complete strangers. Can someone please explain to me why I book my air ticket, pack my cases, brave the scary airport security, travel for thousands of miles to some exotic destination, only to end up taking photos of clothes hanging on wash lines? When I’m at home, I would never dream of photographing the neighbours’ smalls and not so smalls, dancing merrily in the breeze.

Early last year, we travelled to the coastal town of San Pedro in Belize. I do have pics of pelicans and boats etc, but I also have these. I think tumble driers must be very scarce here, but I’m sure the laundry smells much fresher, and the electricity bills are minimal.

DSCN0898

I find that there’s something fascinating about laundry in foreign countries. How many bras does a woman need, and does Captain Jack Sparrow live here?

DSCN1229

Maybe the people here all do their washing on the same day, as there was no shortage of clean laundry to take pics of.

DSCN1227

This brightly painted house had very little on the wash line, but I thought the shrine would make a nice foreground.

DSCN1281

I find there’s something quite irresistible about the laundry and palm tree combination on Ambergris Caye.

DSCN1302

I wouldn’t have minded the loan of one of these wash lines for a day. I do love my clothes to be clean, and it’s really awkward trying to do laundry on holiday. Maybe that’s why I have toΒ  take so many cases with me.

dscn1255

I hope you also enjoyed looking at Belizean washing. Did you find it more compelling than your own?

To see more entries for Ailsa’s Clean Theme, just click on the link.

 

 

 

 

 

99 comments on “Wash Day Paparazzi for the Clean Theme

  1. I love the sights and sounds of laundry hanging in the breeze and sunshine! Nothing smells better either! These are all so colorful and fun!

  2. I have been enjoying looking around your blog.
    Every post deserved at least a like.
    Some appealed to me more than others.
    ‘A tree falls in the forest;’ I liked because I see faces hidden in nature.
    ‘Which bed’ very appealing then the ‘OX cart’ round designs is a beauty.
    Then without a doubt I found the Blue Ribbon prize.
    Washing day, with the pirate from the Caribbean hiding in the washing.
    well seen, you have an eye for it. thank you Sylvia.

  3. Seeing a laundry-filled line always makes me smile. They’re so reminiscent of my youth, before dryers became widespread. I remember that scent in the air when standing downwind of freshly hung laundry.

  4. Love the photographs of the quaint and colorful houses in Belize.
    I once got into a lot of trouble for photographing my neighbours smalls. πŸ™‚

  5. Easter is a promise of joy and renewal
    May this one before us
    Marks a new beginning
    Of happiness, love and prosperity.
    Wishing you a Happy Easter!
    With love Maxima

  6. While living in Mexico we found this to be a common sight. Seeing laundry on the line always reminds me of my mother, who hung the laundry out each week.

    As for the bras, I don’t even own that many! πŸ™‚

  7. Love it! Reminds me of life in the Philippines. We still hand wash everything and dry them under the Sun in all their glory. Real, humbling, simple. The tropics reminds us that we don’t need expensive machines to have a good life.

  8. There are so few neighborhoods in the U. S. that allow laundry to dry on a line that it’s almost like peeking into someone’s private life nowadays. And do you really want some stranger checking out your bras? Your underwear? I’d feel like I had to buy all new underwear if I was going to dry it on a line. But then again, sometimes you learn more about a people than looking at their monuments to a dead society!

  9. Nope, you’re not the only one, I do it too http://wp.me/pL5Qv-4B and http://wp.me/pL2aa-eU. I suppose in the UK people don’t hang their washing out in the front of their houses, usually in the back garden, unless like me you don’t have a garden 😦 Afraid I have to use a drier, and drape sheets over an airer. I miss not being able to hang out washing – though recently it would have come back in dirtier than it went out!
    Jude xx

    • I looked at your posts, Jude. I didn’t see the washing hanging out in Venice. Maybe I wasn’t there on washday, πŸ™‚ Yes, it’s not great having to dry washing indoors. I’m lucky in South Africa that I have an enclosed drying yard, but not so in Florida. I don’t think the neighbours would like me to erect a wash line next to the lake. πŸ™‚ Sylvia xx

  10. LOL! I had to laugh Sylvia, especially at the Captain Jack Sparrow photo. Really colourful and beautiful shots and I could smell that good, clean and freshness of the laundry. Lovely post. πŸ˜€

  11. Lovely laundry! I do like it flowing in the breeze and the lovely scent when taking it inside again. I have a habit of looking at how it’s hanging and what devices are used in different countries.

  12. Nice laundry shots….and I am even stranger than you, because I have been known to take photos of my own laundry, floating on a soft breeze backlit by sunshine…..so pretty πŸ™‚

  13. I LOVE the scent of clothes & sheets & blankets that have been hung out to dry. I miss those days.
    Our subdivision doesn’t allow that. Buuuu…
    Too cold here & I can’t hang-dry my laundry outside. I really need to move. πŸ™‚

  14. Here in Australia it’s the done thing to hang our washing out to dry. We do have the right weather for it after all. Most people wouldn’t dream of using a tumble dryer unless it was pouring rain. It’s much nicer to have freshly aired laundry. I love these colourful photos.

    You’re right though, I wouldn’t take photos of the washing here either.

  15. credo che un buon investigatore potrebbe dire molte cose sugli abitanti di quelle case…solo vedendo i panni stesi…he he
    tutto molto lindo e delizioso πŸ™‚

    I believe that a good investigator could say many things about the inhabitants of those houses … just seeing the drying laundry … he he
    all very neat and delightful:-)

    • Yes, I guess you’re right, Ventis, just the same as the contents of people’s trash bags would tell a lot of tales. πŸ™‚

      SΓ¬, credo che tu abbia ragione, Ventis, proprio come il contenuto di sacchetti della spazzatura della gente raccontava un sacco di storie. πŸ™‚

  16. Sylvia … what a cheeky zoom in !
    Yes .. other people’s laundry lines can be colourful .. and hmm interesting πŸ˜‰

  17. We almost moved to a gated community closer to the beach, but those ‘covenants’ about how tall the grass had to be and no hanging wash out were more than I could handle. Don’t think I’d want that kind of elitist for neighbors either… and there weren’t even any Herons to entice me. πŸ™„

  18. Ah, you little wash-line paparazzi, you!!!
    I love them! Very colorful and I can smell the freshness!
    One of the joys in our new house is that I can hang my wash outside my back balcony [especially curtains – straight down: no ironing needed if you get my point!]. They dry in no time on a sunny day and they stay fresh. Although it is not restricted by law, no one actually hangs their wash on their front balconies where it’s visible -with the occasional exceptions- but the back is ok! πŸ™‚

  19. Fascinating, and a very good point Sylvia. Why on earth? We all do it though don’t we? Mind you, I can see the charm by looking at these photos, I love them, showing as they do a very different way of life πŸ™‚

  20. The first sign of spring means I can once again hang all of bras, underwear, shirts, pants, towels, etc. on the line. I love the smell and if people have issues with our undergarments don’t look.

  21. I’ll stick with my regular clothes dryer. That way everyone won’t realize how many T Shirts I own featuring liquor and beer advertisements. All free give-aways during our annual Bike Week events. πŸ™‚

  22. Hang out your washing on the Siegfried line.. an old WWII song that springs to mind for some reason Sylvia. Smashing shots. Laundry can be very colourful indeed!

    • I’m sorry to ruin your mental vision of me, Scott. πŸ˜› My hubby calls me ‘The laundry Lady’, because I have his clothes washed, ironed and back in his cupboard almost before he’s taken them off. πŸ˜€

  23. People are probably going to either

    A) Wonder if there’s something wrong with their laundry

    or

    B) Start taking photos of their neighbour laundry now that they’ve seen you do it lol!

  24. I’m with you on this theme as I too love taking photos of laundry while away. Definitely more appealing while traveling. I love the shot of the colorful house.

  25. I love the look of laundry on the line. Where I live in NJ, I can’t hang out my wash. We don’t have a yard space suitable. It’s one of the things I loved growing up– loved the job of hanging the clothes, especially sheets. When I bike, I like seeing laundry lines. Nice pix, I’m sure you have photos of other great Belize sights!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

