Sunday Stills: Ghost Ride. Ed’s pic modified

Ed’s Sunday Stills Challenge this week, is to modify his photo of this Ferris Wheel.

084

I don’t have any fancy photo-shopping apps, so I just played around on my MacBook Air, and came up with this. It reminds me of that old Johnny Cash song, “Ghost Riders in the Sky.”

084

Did you know that the original Ferris Wheel was constructed in 1893 by George Washington Gayle Ferris, Jnr, for ‘The World Columbian Exposition’ in Chicago? The current record holder for the ‘World’s Tallest Ferris Wheel’ is the brand new 550 feet high, ‘High Roller’ on the Las Vegas Strip, which was opened to the public on March 31st, 2014.

To see more entries for Ed’s challenge, Just click here.

 

80 comments on “Sunday Stills: Ghost Ride. Ed’s pic modified

  1. Pingback: Ramrods – Ghost Riders in the Sky | mostly music

  2. Wow! You sure made the Ghost Rider look pale in comparison Sylvia. I love it! Great edit and thanks for the interesting info. πŸ˜€ β™₯ Hugs β™₯

  3. Very clever image. Perfect song title,too. πŸ™‚ I have relatives that went to that fair and somehow, I ended up with the ticket stubs and other memorabilia from them.

    • I think I remember the original version by Burl Ives, which was popular in England in the late 1940’s early ’50’s, but the Johnny Cash rendition is the one that most sticks in my mind.I just love his voice. πŸ˜€

  4. I’m a girl that wants color in my world … so my vote goes to the top image .. the other one is a bit scary, but very effective. Amazing it’s till works after all those days.
    Great entry.

  5. Oh my … This is spooky … And scary … For one like me that is afraid of heights …
    But fears are there to be overcome … So I struggle on with my height fear … And occasionally expose myself for various kind of heights … // Maria πŸ™‚

  6. I think you’ve done a great job – it reminds me of the tales of the dark-side we used to watch as kids. For some reason they always had a fair, a clown or a ferris wheel in them. Spooky! πŸ˜€

      • LOL – you just reminded me of a joke I have with hubby. He knows I don’t like fairs and when I read the news and there’s been an accident on a ferris wheel or a roller-coaster I say ‘See? I told you they’re dangerous!’ and he says ‘somehow I knew you were going to say that’ πŸ˜€

  7. I agree. That looks pretty spooky. My brother and I rode the “new” ferris wheel while we were in Chicago. It was quite an invention, then suddenly no one wanted to ride it any more, and it fell into disrepair, and eventually had a sad end. It’s amazing how “what goes around comes around,” isn’t it? The Ferris Wheel line at Navy Pier in Chicago was miles long. πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

