Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Unexpected

On my travels around the world, I’ve often happened upon unexpected sights. These always add to the enjoyment and excitement of a trip, don’t you agree? Here are just a few for Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week.

A cashier in Walgreen's Pharmacy was wearing this amazing hat. She obligingly bent her head so I could take a pic.

A cashier in Walgreen’s Pharmacy was wearing this amazing hat. She obligingly bent her head so I could take a pic.

A rather dilapidated Discotheque in a Costa Rican village.

A rather dilapidated Discotheque in a Costa Rican village.

A beautifully decorated oxcart, complete with ox, unexpectedly appeared, when we were visiting a coffee farm in Costa Rica.

A beautifully decorated oxcart, complete with ox, unexpectedly appeared, when we were visiting a coffee farm in Costa Rica.

An unexpected Bull's-Eye at a resort in the Bahamas.

An unexpected Bull’s-Eye at a resort in the Bahamas.

Hubby got an unexpected visitor at the Kuranda Bird World in Cairns.

Hubby got an unexpected visitor at the Kuranda Bird World in Cairns.

A most unwelcome surprise when hubby went out to pack up the car, to leave our son's house in New Jersey,last Christmas.

A most unwelcome surprise when hubby went out to pack up the car, to leave our son’s house in New Jersey,last Christmas.

This satellite dish was a rather unexpected sight in Peru.

This satellite dish was a rather unexpected sight in Peru.

Last but not least, this Belizean woman's nail do was an unexpected sight on a plane ride from Lamanai to Belize City, I thought I'd just pop this one in especially for my friend Gunta. I know it will make her day. ;)

Last but not least, this Belizean woman’s nail do was an unexpected sight on a plane ride from Lamanai to Belize City, I thought I’d just pop this one in especially for my friend Gunta. I know it will make her day. 😉

I hope you’ve enjoyed my unexpected pics from around the world. To see more entries for Ailsa’s Travel Theme, just click here.

68 comments on “Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Unexpected

  1. Those are indeed unexpected sights, Sylvia! I love the ox cart. In Holland these black and white cows are very common, but with a cart I always think of brown ones?
    Was your husband freaked out by the bird, or did he keep his cool? 🙂

    • Thanks, Marion. No, hubby was quite cool about the bird on his shoulder. He doesn’t scare easily. I guess his biggest worry was that it might leave a ‘deposit’, as it sat there for quite a while. 🙂

  2. Great photos for the ‘unexpected’ theme Sylvia. That disco! I’m so curious to know what it was like on the inside…or perhaps not 😉

  3. Mrs GOF and I recently suffered through 5 hours looking at photographs taken by very close friends of ours who’ve just returned from an organised tour of Europe. BORING!
    Every picture was a static reminder of all the travel documentaries we’d seen so often on TV.
    To me travel should be about discovering the little gems to be found off the beaten track such as the ones you so often post.
    Kuranda Bird World is wonderful….we’re planning on revisting in the next few weeks along with Butterfly World. (which should test my meagre photography skills) 🙂

    • Five hours of someones holiday pics is my idea of hell. 🙂 Glad you enjoy my little bursts of photographic quirkiness. 🙂 The butterfly and bird parks are wonderful places to visit. I look forward to seeing some pics.

  4. immagini veramente uniche! ho dovuto faticare non poco per capire che cosa fosse il cappello, mi sembrava una torta ha ha! e quelle mani, mi hanno colpito…mi piacerebbe sapere che mestiere fa la signora…se pure ne fa uno…
    sempre speciale tu
    🙂

    images really unique! I had to struggle a lot to understand what was the hat, it seemed to me a cake ha ha! and those hands, they hit me … I’d like to know that how does Mrs. … even if it is a …

    always special you

    • Glad you enjoyed my unexpected pics, Ventis. Yes, I agree with you about those OTT nails. 😯 I wouldn’t like a cake with a spider on it, but I guess I also wouldn’t like to wear spider on my head, either. 😆

  5. The flat tire was a ‘bummer’ but the other ones mad me smile. That decorated cart is really pretty. I’m not sure about the hat, though… regular sized spiders make me a little squeamish… super-sized ones are just creepy!

  6. What a great collection! Your Hubby looks like a cross between amused and uncertain. I’m afraid I would have shrieked and scared the poor thing senseless!.

  7. I imagine these unexpected sights to make you smile and make your trip a little more memorable. 🙂 I love the hat – what a cool lady to wear such a hat. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Sylvia.

  8. Lovely pictures. I wouldn’t mind a hat like that. I love hats. Not sure about the practicality of nail extensions like those, though. I guess that lucky woman doesn’t have to do any housework!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

