WPC ‘Room’: Inca rooms at Machu Picchu

This weeks photo challenge ‘Room’, had me remembering my visit to the ancient Inca site of Machu Picchu. You can see from my picture gallery, that there there were a great many rooms in this royal retreat. Of course, all the roofs have long since gone, but the dry stone walls have survived the centuries. It’s believed by most archaeologists to have been built as an estate for the Inca Emperor Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui (1438-71), and lay hidden amidst dense jungle-covered mountains until it was discovered by American historian, Hiram Bingham in 1911.

Click on any pic to enlarge and view gallery.

β€œMachu Picchu is a trip to the serenity of the soul, to the eternal fusion with the cosmos; where we feel our fragility. It is one of the greatest marvels of South America. A resting place of butterflies in the epicentre of the great circle of life. One more miracle.” ~ Pablo Neruda

 

To see more rooms for the challenge, just click on the icon below.

Wordless-Wednesday-Button-1501

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

90 comments on “WPC ‘Room’: Inca rooms at Machu Picchu

  1. These are some amazing rooms. And you know, Machu Picchu wasn’t even on my Travel the World List, but you have so many awesome shots of this place and this post just reminded me that I definitely have to check this out. πŸ™‚

  2. Wonderful to see these photos Sylvia, as I have always wanted to visit Machu Picchu. One of these years, eh? Great share for ‘rooms’, thoroughly enjoyed it πŸ˜€ xx

  3. Somehow the shot with you looking out of the window is my favourite. So much wonder in your face – like you can’t believe the view that you’re seeing. It looked like a good hike up Macchu Picchu. Hopefully it wasn’t too hot πŸ™‚

  4. What an amazing place. How wonderful you got to be there! I can’t imagine climbing to those heights, but the view must have been out of this world.

    • Yes it absolutely is, Gunta. The climbing wasn’t too bad, after we’d adjusted to the altitude. It’s about 8,000 ft above sea level. I saw that a British man died there last year, as a result of altitude sickness. 😦

      • Yep, you really have to be in pretty good shape at those sorts of altitudes. Altitude sickness is no joke. I really felt it up at Mt Shasta (14,180 ft), but of course I didn’t make it to the top- only as far as I could drive (about 3/4 the height).

  5. I’ll just enjoy your photographs because there is no way in the world I’ll ever imprison myself in a plane for 30 hours to get there. πŸ™‚

  6. This place catches my eye everyone time and ever makes me wonder what things must of been like, or even more so how they built their incredible empire, wow!

  7. Beautiful, Sylvia! We’re planning to hike the Inca Trail to celebrate our son’s graduation from college next year. No relaxing beach vacation for him! πŸ˜‰ I’m beyond excited about it, and your pictures have given me the boost I need to get planning. Enjoy your day!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

