Ed’s Sunday Stills: Sunday Morning Walk Macros

Ed’s Sunday Stills challenge this week. is ‘Macro’, so here are a few shots I took on my walk this morning.

The beautiful Erythrina Coral Tree bears these bright orange flowers throughout our winter.

The beautiful Erythrina Coral Tree bears these bright orange flowers throughout our winter.

Gilly has asked me to show this flower from different angles, so here are a couple more,

IMG_4925

IMG_4924

The Hibiscus outside my front door is in flower all the year round.

The Hibiscus outside my front door is in flower all the year round.

This frothy flower was growing out of the trunk of a palm tree just up the road.

This frothy flower was growing out of the trunk of a palm tree just up the road.

These lovely Proteas were for sale at our local supermarket.

Lovely Proteas were for sale at our local supermarket.

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing some of the beauty I saw on my morning walk today.

 

75 comments on “Ed’s Sunday Stills: Sunday Morning Walk Macros

  1. When I saw Proteas I said to myself: “red artichokes”. They are indeed lovely and so is hibiscus, but Erythrina Coral Tree is so very exotic. Lovely to walk around with you, Sylvia πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve never been able to master the ‘macro’ shots, Sylvia. I love these ones. I think the frothy flower on the palm tree are the seed pods (but don’t quote me on it!) πŸ˜‰

  3. Fabulous, Ad- I really like them πŸ™‚
    We have a lilac hibiscus ‘tree’ outside the Algarve house. The streets on our estate are all planted with differing varieties of tree. When we first bought the house we had a dark red tree which didn’t thrive well and grew very tall so we were really chuffed with our replacement. On the next street they have bottle brush trees which I was quite jealous of till we were gifted the hibiscus. A protea- now that would be something! πŸ™‚

    • We have a lilac hibiscus outside our front door, but it doesn’t flower as well as the pink or yellow ones. I’ve not tried growing proteas, but I see that they just need a sunny position in well drained soil, so they don’t sound too difficult to please.

  4. I found two new things from your post today: the coral flowers and the Proteas. They both look lovely and the coral flowers are so exotic. Thanks for sharing, Sylvia. πŸ™‚

  5. Lovely… the proteas specially… the coral tree is so under appreciated for the beauty of the flower… that and the weeping tree which I’m sure you don’t get on the coast, but could be wrong…

  6. gorgeous treat to see those flowers, the Erythrina Coral Tree is an interesting looking tree…maybe one day you could take a photo of it from a distance so we could see how it appears with those flowers???

  7. Oh these are lovely Sylvia . Love those protea the petals look like they’ve been outlined in chalk πŸ™‚

  8. That coral tree flower is gorgeous Sylvia. And did you know that the palm flowers have a lovely fragrance? I didn’t until I smelled some that had been picked and put in a vase! Lovely photos – but then you know how much I adore flowers πŸ™‚

      • Neither have I – this was at the Logan Botanic Gardens in Dumfries and Galloway. A most surprising garden, it feels like you are in southern Africa or Australasia! I will do a post on my flower blog shortly (well I say shortly, I have a ton of things to write about so don’t hold your breath πŸ™‚ )

Comments can start a conversation. :)

