Another Nostalgic Beach Walk for Jo.

Today I’ve been clearing more drawers and cupboards, and on Friday, the removals truck will arrive to take away the furniture which is going up to our daughter in Johannesburg. My beloved grand piano will also be going along for the ride. I know I’ll shed a tear to see it go, as we’ve been such good friends for the past 30+ years. Well at least I know it’s going to a very good home, and it’s not like I’ll never see it again.

Last Sunday, we actually found time to go for a walk, and of course I took a few pics along the way, for Jo’s challenge. There were many people with the same idea, and the dog walkers were really out in force. (Click on any image to enlarge and see gallery).

The ‘ice cream/everything you need for the beach’ lady was doing her impressive balancing act.

IMG_5083

The ever hopeful fishermen were optimistically casting their lines.

IMG_5039

IMG_5036

The security guys were doing their job, but not getting much exercise.

IMG_5030

A quick stop to admire the lighthouse.

IMG_5121

Then it’s up onto the pier.

IMG_5050

We’re now peering down from the pier at the sand sculptor, who is hoping for a few more romantics to give him twenty rands. If another one comes along, Shane will be history.Β  πŸ™‚

IMG_5071

Good to see the lifeguards are watching out for the surfers at Bronze beach.

IMG_5095

Here’s a weird looking animal, rearing up from the foliage.

IMG_5080

Did you ever see such a red and white striped tree branch before? If you’re tall, please mind your head! Personally, I think they should just saw it off; the dead branch, not your head. πŸ™‚

IMG_4906

Time to turn around now and head back home for lunch. The beach is getting quite busy.

IMG_5164

No stopping at the shop for a candy bar or ice cream; it will spoil your lunch, as my mom always used to tell me.

IMG_5098

Looks like someone passed out here, but best not disturb his dreams.

IMG_5166

Let’s just take off our sandals and stop for one last look at the ocean.

IMG_5088

I hope you enjoyed walking with me. To see more walks for Jo’s challenge, just click here.

97 comments on “Another Nostalgic Beach Walk for Jo.

  1. wonderful walk – πŸ™‚ and I hope your piano makes it safe – and it does help to have go somewhere cherished – I think that it is gift to have that! safe travels amiga! ❀

  2. Thanks for taking me along – it looks like you have been walking a fair distance.
    I just love Jo’s Monday walks … so glad you have joined the challenge.
    The woman with box on her head – great image … my favorite is the lighthouse of course, love the soft pink background light that you captured so nicely.
    I thoroughly enjoyed our walk together and I can see that I that I could have had a Magnum too.

  3. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Whitby cliff tops | restlessjo

    • Thanks, Rommel. The pier is looking great now that the copper alloy whale-bone ribs have started to age. The ice cream lady is perfectly poised. It must take a lot of practice to do that. πŸ™‚

  4. Thinking of you and the upheaval. Your walk was a good one and I especially like the Beach Lady balancing. All the best in the transition.

  5. You know I’ve missed many a post. 😦 but it looks like I need to ask for a brief update. Moving? Leaving and moving to Florida for good? If this is so, good luck with your move. Be well, smile, and breathe. ❀️

  6. Enjoyed your lovely wistful walk Sylvia. The ice cream lady is a class act!! Parting with your piano, I imagine, was the hardest. But I know you will find even more enjoyable things to share with us from Florida. Good luck with the final round of packing πŸ™‚

  7. “I think they should just saw it off; the dead branch, not your head”

    Oh dear. Maybe, I should have finished reading that setence before I started sawing. πŸ™‚

  8. It’s always hard to part with things, isn’t it? 30+ years, I bet you and your piano are best friends. Hope you will get to visit it some time. Love those photos you took on your walk, very scenic. Doesn’t look like it’s too crowded what a perfect day for you to be there πŸ˜€ I always like to turn around and go back to the candy shop AFTER lunch πŸ˜‰

  9. What a beautiful, bittersweet walk, Sylvia. You’ve captured so many fantastic sights along this beach but your Florida home is beautiful as well. I hope Friday goes smoothly for you.

  10. It is a funny point of view about the security guards not getting much exercise. That makes me think how could the guards be strong enough to help others or having to fight some bad guys.

  11. Best wishes with the packing and moving. I don’t envy you. Sad to have to part with your piano…..I only have an electronic one but I could never part with it.
    Fabulous pictures again. It’s entirely possible I’ve missed a post on the topic but I’m wondering if you’ve ever discussed the camera(s) you use……photography has suddenly become an interest for me. (better late in life than never…perhaps)

    • Thanks so much, GOF. I do have another grand piano in Florida, but as it’s only 2 years old, I haven’t really made friends with it yet. With regards to the photos, many of my most recent ones are taken with my iPhone. I’m not really a photographer as such, but do enjoy taking pics of things that catch my eye. My actual camera is a Nikon Coolpix P510…..nothing fancy, but it takes good photos. πŸ™‚

  12. Ah lovely walk Sylvia … I’ll miss your light house too πŸ™‚
    Glad that piano of yours is going to be loved .. gosh 30+ yrs that is quite a time …

  13. I must have missed a post! You finally sold the house I presume? What are your plans for the future…so sorry I missed something…being having trouble with my email account for some time and I have had the feeling I am missing blog posts…..

    • Hi, Annie.Yes, we sold our house about 3 months ago, and move out in a couple of week’s time. We’re renting a house just down the road, also on the beach, until September, before we go back to Florida.

  14. You’ve got me feeling sad all over again, Ad 😦 It IS a lovely lighthouse!
    Will there be a nice beach you can stroll past in Jo’burg?
    Thanks again for walking with me πŸ™‚

  15. Lovely photos. How does she balance everything? I hope you don’t miss your things too much. At least they are going to family, but it’s still hard. Best of luck with everything.

  16. I have really enjoyed my walk along the beach with you. Wonderful photos, especialy the pier! The structure looks like whalebones! Your house is going to feel awfully empty soon. Are you moving in with family before you leave SA for good?

    • Thanks, Jude. Glad you like the whalebone design of the pier. πŸ™‚ We have found a nice 3-bedroomed furnished house to rent for the month of August. It’s just a 100 metres down the road, and also right on the beach. πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

