Feathers on Friday: Red-winged Blackbird

Charlotte of ‘Prairie Birder’ blog, hosts a ‘Feathers on Friday’ challenge. This week, I am featuring one of the many birds I saw in Florida. This handsome bird looked so proud of himself as he posed for the photo. I think he was showing me his best side, don’t you?

DSCN7866

I was reading that according to studies which have been carried out, the left side of the face is rated and perceived to be more aesthetically pleasing than the right side. Examples of iconic portraits showing that some famous artists also believed this to be the case, are Andy Warhol’s ‘Marilyn Monroe’, Vincent Van Gogh’s self-portrait, and Leonardo Da Vinci’s ‘Mona Lisa’. In each of these, the artists painted their subjects, featuring the left side of their faces. So remember, like this Blackbird, to show your left profile when someone next takes your photo.

To take part in Charlotte’s challenge, just follow this link to her blog.

 

77 comments on “Feathers on Friday: Red-winged Blackbird

  1. He looks like he won’t miss a trick that one Sylvia . Beady eyed show off 😉
    As to your research .. it’s interesting isn’t it . I’ve also seen photos somewhere of faces made up of two left sides / two right sides and the result shows symmetry is not necessarily beautiful either .

  2. Your accompanying article reminded me of an incident years ago in the office I was working in. That afternoon, we were celebrating the birthday of a partner in the firm, if I recall. As such, we associates and other colleagues were gathered in one room having fun chatting and taking pictures. One young lady who had a crush on my friend flirtatiously posed for a photo and said, while moving her face to the right angle, “here, take a photo of this side of my face. This is my prettier side” or something to that effect. My friend, who was not the type to tolerate such coquetishness pulled out a black marker and tried to mark the lady’s upturned cheek. I guess, that stopped her chatter and gave us some peace and quiet.

  3. I’ll make sure that I turn my face slightly to the right on the next photo opportunity! That blackbird is beautifully photographed and, yes, he looks proud and happy. I recognize their unique call in the spring first, then I start to notice them. Wondering what purpose that colorful patch served in an evolutionary kind of way?

  4. I’ll be sure and pose to have my left side featured next time I have my photo taken LOL. Great shot. I’ve tried numerous times to capture one of these Red-winged Blackbirds to no avail 🙂

  5. wow. thanks for the info Sylvia! i’ll make sure to remember that 🙂
    our winged friend certainly know how to pose! nice capture, as always! 🙂

  6. He’s kind of looking down his beak at you. A rather haughty pose, I think. I don’t know about my left side. I’ll have to see which side has more hair. My only professional pictures recently featured my right side, which has a slightly better smile than my left. Everyone has to be a little different, I guess! AT least I have two sides! I’m VERY happy about that! 🙂

  7. The left side? Right! Except that both my sides and even the front are equally awful! The back might be OK under certain circumstances like when you run past it in the dark with your eyes closed!
    Have fun and enjoy he weekend.

      • The bird is most unusual in my book but the as for the left side of the face… I cannot get my head around that one. Has it got anything to do with the dominant hemisphere because I know if you know how to look for it you can tell by looking at a person if they are left or right handed. But that is another story

Comments can start a conversation. :)

