It’s my Birthday and I’ll Blog if I want to.

“No woman should ever be quite accurate about her age. It looks so calculating.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Hands up if you remember this song sung by Lesley Gore in 1963. Well, if you danced to this as a teenager, then you’re probably about the same age as me.

I was going to take my special day off, but changed my mind. After all, what’s a day without just a little bit of blogging? Yesterday, my darling sister prepared a very special birthday lunch for me, and invited a few friends to help me celebrate. When we arrived, the table was all set and looked really festive. (I’ve just noticed, looking at the pics, that the table mats, cake decorations and the top I was wearing, all happen to match. How’s that for co-ordination?)

IMG_5349

She had made delicious prawn cocktail starter, followed by a classic Beef Stroganoff with rice and delicious roasted vegetables. Dessert was Crème Brûlée, which was absolutely sublime, and then came the crowning glory; her gorgeously decadent Cleopatra Chocolate Birthday Cake. You have to taste this to believe it. The topping is pure, undiluted, melted chocolate.

IMG_5350

It had only one candle, which wasn’t too difficult to blow out, except that the people taking photographs kept making me laugh, so it took a while.

IMG_5364

The conversation around the table was both lively, and at times, totally hilarious, and we all had so much fun. Today is my actual birthday, and we’re going to have ‘High Tea’ again at The Oyster Box Hotel. My sister will be joining us too. I’m so excited with my birthday present from hubby, which is three of her Gustav Klimt style paintings, some of which which I showed you the other day for Ailsa’a Travel Theme. They will be lovingly packed up with the rest of our furniture and have pride of place in our house in Florida. He also bought me some potent-sounding anti-aging cream, which I’m hoping is a miracle in a jar. I have lots of other lovely pressies, including from my daughter, a night for two in an ocean terrace room at the gorgeous ‘Oyster Box Hotel’, a spa manicure and pedicure from my son, and various edible and inedible treats from friends. Last night I had a long Skype conversation with the family in New Jersey, who all sang “Happy Birthday to Granny.” So very special.

Now, you’ll have to excuse me if I disappear for a while to make the most of my special day. This coming weekend, we move out of our home and into the one we’re renting for the month of August, so I may not be around quite as much as usual for the next few days, but I’m sure I’ll find time to do a couple of posts in between all the packing. Have a great week.

 

 

153 comments on “It’s my Birthday and I’ll Blog if I want to.

  1. Well as I can say is that I missed a lot in the couple of weeks away from blogging and now your birthday too!! Wow, what a wonderful celebration, love the colour coordination… 😉 That cake looks divine, and what lovely, thoughtful gifts from your family. Sounds like you had a beautiful day…better late than never, but happy belated birthday to you dear Sylvia 😀 xx

  2. Happy birthday again. What a special treat your sister prepared for you. Her art spills from the canvass to the food and then to the table. I absolutely think that she made you feel very special. Great sister you have. 🙂

  3. My apologies for being late with your birthday wishes. Happy belated birthday to you! It looks like you had a fabulous birthday celebration. 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday, Sylvia! Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday surrounded by so much love, with the ones you love. A melted chocolate cake, you are one lucky girl and I’m sure you all enjoyed it. Anti-aging cream? I think you look very young for your age! Nice of you to be thinking of us on your special day too. You are very generous 😀

  5. I missed it! No cake for me 😦 Sounds like you’re going to be all primped and polished with those lovely pressies. I just know you’ll have had fun. I wish you many more such happy occasions, Ad 🙂

    • I’m sure all the cake has been eaten, Jo. Sorry you were too late. Even though it was MY birthday cake, I only got one square. I suppose BiL ate all the leftovers. 😦 Thanks so much for the lovely wishes. xx

  6. happy birthday! July birthdays rock – and so cool how your shirt matched things so well – also – love that ten top set up – and the cake – well you could kinda tell it was a different kinda chocolate frosting and I enjoyed the description.
    safe travels and hope you enjoy your rental for August…. 🙂 ❤
    oh – and I am going to check out the travel theme post right now (did you say Gustav Klimt?? yeah baby)

  7. You are amazing, and don’t need any cream except Brule. I’m so glad you had a wonderful birthday. I love the colors, and the fact that you shared it with us! 🙂 Enjoy your month of August – even if you don’t blog every day, but be sure to Blog If You Want To. I remember! 🙂 🙂

  8. Happy B’day, Lion gal! ❤ stay healthy, cool and optimistic! lots of love and joy from your loved ones… cheers! Mélanie last but not least: life starts at 50! 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

