Feathers on Friday: My Great Blue is still around.

All is  going well here, and I’ve almost finished sorting out what clothes etc. I can fit in my suitcases (and one of hubby’s). I do still have to do my shoes though……decision, decisions.  Tomorrow afternoon we get the keys to the apartment we’ll be moving to on Sunday. It’s all been repainted and cleaned after the last occupants. The owner is a friend of hubby’s and I think he imagines that I’m very fussy. Can’t for the life of me imagine why that should be. 🙂

Just over a month ago, I looked the image from our internet security camera in Florida, and was delighted to see that my Great Blue Heron is still around, and frequenting our back yard. Can’t wait to get back to see him in person. I wonder if he’ll still remember me; the crazy woman who stands out on the patio in her nightie, with her camera trained on him at breakfast time?

1403812328.866199

I mostly catch him in a pensive and watchful mood.

DSCN7626

But sometimes, he can look quite playful and even a bit cheeky.

DSCN7640

My favourite pose is when he’s all puffed out and showing off his gorgeous plumage to best advantage.

DSCN7692

Roll on September, when we’ll be back there again.

In other breaking news, we heard yesterday from our roofing contractor, that today, he’s actually starting work on replacing the roof of the ‘abandoned’ house we bought a few months ago, so it should all be finished by the time we get back, and then hubby can get cracking on those renovations. 

I won’t be posting for a few days, but will try to pop in on some of your blogs when I have a few moments to spare. Have a great weekend.

 

77 comments on “Feathers on Friday: My Great Blue is still around.

  1. Heron are such beautiful birds. Remarkably, one flies overhead every night about an hour before sunset, going west, during the Summer. I’d love to know where it’s coming from and headed to. I guess some things are best left a secret. 🙂

  2. Your online camera/monitor is something I used to, and still) wish for whenever we leave home for a considerable time. It gives me security and keeps me from wishing home too much.

    Your feathered friend must be there waiting for you. Happy weekend. 🙂

  3. Ah..your words of the other day turned out to be prophetic. Our heron returned this morning and made off with a large goldfish, ignoring my yells of ‘Hey!’, which came too late for the fish and the bird sailed away across the valley with its ”lunch”.

  4. That Heron is quite the ‘flasher’, isn’t he Sylvia? 😆 What a beauty and you’ve captured him so well. As for the shoes … you are welcome to send them to me. hahahahaha! Have fun hon and take care. Wishing you all of the best. ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  5. How cool is it that your yard pet is a Great Blue Heron? My yard pets in Tennessee consist of squirrels and chipmunks. Not as exotic but cute! Happy moving into your apartment for a little while. September will be here before you know it!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

