Keeping my head above water.

“Breathe in. Breathe out. Move on.” ~ Jimmy Buffett

DSCF3088

It’s almost done. There have been times in the past few weeks when I’ve felt as if I was drowning in ‘stuff’, and there was so much more still to do. Restless nights were the order of the day. (That does sound a bit Irish, doesn’t it?)

DIGITAL CAMERA

I had to keep telling myself, “This too shall pass,” and of course it will. The removals guys have been fantastic, and have carefully packed all our belongings to be taken into storage for a while. Tomorrow the big van will arrive, and the house will be empty and ready for its next owner. Of course it doesn’t look like my home anymore, so I feel quite detached from it and have no regrets about leaving it.

We are now living just down the road in a very comfortable ground floor apartment. The thoughtful owner had left us a bottle of champagne in the fridge, a bowl of fruit, a box of cookies, and even a vase of flowers. Our temporary home has everything we need for now, and after tomorrow we’ll be able to relax and enjoy our last few weeks here at the beach.

β€œGratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.” ~ Marcus Tullius Cicero
f0683ce0006f53d8be598b35f4ba772a

 

 

 

 

82 comments on “Keeping my head above water.

  1. I think you live in an attitude of gratitude, and that’s why you have so many days in paradise. Perfect pictures to illustrate your point. That’s exactly how I swim, too, head out of the water, hat on! πŸ™‚ Enjoy the bubbly. πŸ™‚

  2. I love that Jimmy Buffet! That’s a good attitude to have especially when you have all that stuff going on, but how awesome was it to find that champagne, fruit, and flowers! Sending you some good vibes my friend.

  3. You must be glad to have this experience behind you now. A little breather before your next phase has to be much appreciated. You’ve done a great job!

  4. “This too shall pass” is a truth to live by. slowly, slowly, things are getting settled. you are farther along now from where you started. I wish you a smooth transition.

  5. My husband used to say that phrase quite often… I’m thinking you’re past the toughest bit. You’ll be back with your favorite GBH before you know it!
    Wishing you the best, as always!

  6. While keeping your head above water do a few laps of breaststroke to relax! How long do you expect to be in your temporary abode before the final move?
    BTW I survived the “tremor”while shopping at PnP this morning πŸ˜‰ No panic.

  7. I love those swimming pix. And your mantras are perfect, as you said to me, this too shall pass. In my case it’s just taking a hell of a long time passing. So wish I could walk, swim, cycle. Can you tell I’m going through the frustration stage. Wishing you every good thoughts for your moves around and your next stay in Floriduh.

  8. i love the gratitude very much felt in here, Sylvia. things seem progressing well and am so happy for you. sending you cheers and enjoy the lovely welcome treat! πŸ™‚

  9. Enjoy your breathing space before the next chapter Sylvia . An inordinate amount of hard work you’ve done these last few weeks .
    So … it’s after 6pm .. time surely has come to pop open that Champagne πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Poppy. It’s great to be able to relax again, but now I’m organisng more stuff for the Animal Welfare, as the owner here has delivered a lot of new linen and crockery, and left me to sort it all out. πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

