A cute black Scottie came visiting today.

Michelle has a Weekly Pet Challenge, where she invites us to post pics of our pets, or any other animals.

This morning, we had the sweetest little visitor. He had come for a nose around to see who was living here.

IMG_5491

I grabbed my iPhone just as he turned tail and toddled off into the bushes. Obviously he didn’t find us very interesting.

IMG_5504

A while later, I spotted him again, so went outside for a chat. Now the only bit of Scottish I know, is “Hoots mon” and “Och aye the noo,” but he just sat and stared blankly back at me. Maybe my accent wasn’t quite right.

IMG_5503

He did allow me to pat him for a while, before rushing off to do a great impersonation of a ‘whirling dervish’, on the grass. Round and round he rolled, this way and that,

IMG_5498

until I thought he must be quite dizzy.

IMG_5495

But nothing of the sort. He jumped back onto all fours, and nonchalantly wandered over to inspect one of the garden sprays.

IMG_5502

Then, without so much as a backward glance at me, waiting to get a full face photo, he disappeared off round the corner, never to be see again.

IMG_5508

I suppose there’s always tomorrow. I will keep a look out for him.

Wishing you all a great weekend. Hubby and I are off to stay at ‘The Oyster Box Hotel’ just up the road.

dscn88052

Some of you may remember that this was my daughter’s birthday present to me, and we’re so looking forward to it. We’ve booked for the dinner dance tomorrow evening, but it will seem a bit strange, packing a case and checking into a hotel only two miles away. Have you ever done such a thing?

petchallenge

 

63 comments on “A cute black Scottie came visiting today.

  1. Pingback: Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge. Roundup and start of new week. (50) | Hope* the happy hugger

  2. I like your visitor. Scotties are rare these days. As to checking into a hotel around the corner….Yip. I’ve done it – in desperation, dragging an empty suitcase as a prop at 1 a.m. (Hyde Park Hotel, closest I could think of.) Had to get the ex out of my house, and away from where my children were sleeping peacefully. Thanks for the memory, seriously πŸ™‚ LOL.

  3. I’ve thought of staying at a motel on the beach some 15-20 miles from home just so I could perhaps catch a sunrise. But I’ll wait for the tourists to clear out… πŸ™‚

    • Good idea, Gunta. The tourists never seem to ‘clear out’ of our little seaside resort. Yes, little Scottie looked like he wanted a playmate. Don’t think he’s too keen on the monkeys or the Siamese cat I’ve seen around. πŸ™‚

  4. Your little visitor is sure trying to show off and he is so cute! We did some mini getaways not too far from home. It’s quite a nice break! Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  5. Such a show-off – giving you a real performance once you came out with the iPhone /camera! I like the idea of a visiting pet, not being able to have one of my own just now. I was hopeful, when I first moved in, that the inquisitive white Persian would become a regular visitor – certainly the activation of the outside light indicated he might live up to my expectations, but no: it turns out he wasn’t a bona fide wanderer after all, just in search of an easy meal – and as much as I’d like to share someone’s pet, I’d never feed anyone else’s, unless asked to do so.

  6. We definitely have had mini getaways in our own city. A lovely refresh. I hope you enjoy the gift very much. Cute Scottie who seemed to take quite the linking to your grass.

  7. What a cutie! They are such adorable little dogs! I do hope you see him again Sylvia. Thanks for entertaining us as well. πŸ˜†

    Now that is something I wouldn’t mind doing, especially at such a lovely place. Have fun and enjoy Sylvia. We want pics … of everything! πŸ˜†

Comments can start a conversation. :)

