When morning gilds the skies, for Ailsa’s Travel Theme.

I’m back home again after our super mini vacation. I’ll tell you more about it next week, with photos, but I just have to share my sunrise photos from today, and link to Ailsa’s Horizon Travel Theme.

I’m not usually an early riser, but today I happened to wake up at 6am, so crept out of bed and onto the balcony without waking hubby. I managed to open both the shutters and the sliding door without making a noise. I was so proud of myself. 🙂

Here’s what I saw:

The sun was just a tiny spec on the horizon.

The sun had only just woken up too, and was only a tiny spec.

Then it started to rise up out of the Indian ocean.

Then it started to rise up out of the Indian ocean, like a UFO on fire.

Then it spread its rosy glow a bit further across the horizon.

It soon started to spread its rosy glow across the horizon.

Sun up! Time to wake hubby and get ready for breakfast.

Then all of a sudden, it was ‘Sun up’! Time to wake hubby, and get ready for a sumptuous breakfast.

There's nothing quite like a sunrise over the Indian Ocean.

There’s nothing quite like a sunrise over the Indian Ocean.

I hope you’ve all had as enjoyable a weekend as I have.

60 comments on “When morning gilds the skies, for Ailsa’s Travel Theme.

  1. I have never regretted it when I have made the effort to rise earlier either 🙂 This is a glorious reward Sylvia! Perfect for the silhouette challenge too.

  2. So now I know what you were up to while I was celebrating my daughter’s birthday back in the UK! What a magnificent sunrise you captured here Sylvia. I don’t know if I’ll ever get to see the Indian Ocean (but never say never, right?) so it’s lovely to see it through your eyes. Looking forward to hearing all about your wonderful mini vacation 😀 xx

  3. Lucky me, I don’t have to wake up early to catch a sunrise on my side of the Pacific. I just wait for later in the day to see it sink back down again. 😀 You caught some magical shots there, though!

  4. What a lovely view Sylvia. I am sure it was quite a surprise for him to see your beautiful photo’s of this beautiful rising sun. Thanks for sharing. 😀

Comments can start a conversation. :)

