The real story behind my B&W ‘hospital’ pics.

Okay, so I was very naughty yesterday, when I only showed you the rather clinical pics I took of the Oyster Box Hotel. What I failed to mention, was that it was an outdoor corridor, and if one looks over to the left, one can see this beautiful scene. (Just ignore the ugly high-rise buildings that have made an unwelcome appearance over the last few years.)

DSCN9058

Assuming you don’t suffer from vertigo, you could look down and see this charming courtyard, lined with palm trees.

DSCN9066

The mural at the one end, features cheeky monkeys, and for very good reason, as there are so many of them around.

DSCN9070

Looking straight across, you’ll be able to watch the yellow Weaver birds busily building and re-building their nests. (Click on the pics to enlarge.)

Just around the corner from here, is the Lighthouse Bar, where we decided to try a couple of cocktails before dinner. Hubby ordered a ‘Lighthouse Heaven’ and mine was a very potent ‘Umshlanga Shling.”

IMG_5523

There is so much local artwork all around the hotel, and interesting sculptures too. It’s almost like an art gallery.

What do you think of these quirky red chairs? Unusual to say the least.

DSCN9081

Looking down from the first floor, one can see the Palm Court restaurant, which is where high tea is served.

DSCN9082

I almost forgot about the amazing reception lounge. It’s style is a mix of old Colonial and African contemporary, with black and white tiled floors, oriental carpets, mirrored walls, and gorgeous furniture.

DSCN8815

The original 1950’s staircase with its marble steps and carved wooden balustrade, winds it’s way up to the red and white themed Lighthouse bar, where in 2012, Prince Albert of Monaco and Princess Charlene, partied before their wedding .

DSCN8808

Our room was really beautiful, with a very comfortable king size bed, feather pillows, gorgeous marble bathroom, and a balcony overlooking the ocean and lighthouse. There’s me, sipping my champagne at the start of the fun,

IMG_5518and here’s hubby, wearing hisΒ red and white ‘lighthouse’ dressing gown, enjoying his first coffee on Sunday morning, before going down to a really sumptuous breakfast. We were so spoilt. What a great birthday present it was.

IMG_5556

I think that’s enough for one post, but I just had to show you that I didn’t really stay in a hospital for the weekend. I didn’t want you all feeling sorry for me. πŸ™‚

79 comments on “The real story behind my B&W ‘hospital’ pics.

  1. Wow … Elegant … Stylish … Gorgeous … Marvelous … I canΒ΄t say enough superlatives of this hotel …
    And then we have your cocktails … They really looked very tasty …
    What a fabulous present from your daughter ! …

    I loved your yellow suite … For a sec I could see me and Yarri there too πŸ˜‰ … // Maria πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Maria. It was one of the best birthday presents, I’ve ever had. I was so surprised when I opened the envelope on my birthday, and saw the voucher inside. πŸ™‚ I’m sure Yarri would love to chase the monkeys. πŸ™‚ xx

  2. How does one person have so much fun? You are really always in paradise! What a beautiful place that is. I love the black and white floor with the oriental carpets. Wow! What a treat! πŸ™‚

  3. Much more comfy looking than the other. Quite a blend of decorating styles. But, I must say, the best photo is the last one. Hubby looks like he is having a ball. By the way, what was your drink made of?

  4. Oh, that is a gorgeous hotel for sure Sylvia. I just love the courtyard and those monkey murals are my favourite for sure. You’ve captured all the beauty so well hon and that is indeed the most perfect birthday present ever! πŸ˜€ β™₯ Hugs β™₯

  5. Well our hotels as hospitals and vice versa situations have more similarities, we obviously have lots of monkeys too. Although not by the hospital, only near the hotels, mainly The Rock Hotel and the Caleta Palace. And our hospital has loads of artwork. No swish lounges though, love that mix of colonial meets African. Regardless of the politics of colonialism I love the style. So so exotic. We managed to stay at Raffles before it was revamped. Wonderful. Our room – which turned out to be a suite with a kitchen – was twice the size of our flat in Gib!

  6. What a luxurious hotel Sylvia! You look like royalty there πŸ™‚
    And, yes, I love those quirky chairs. Any chance of you smuggling them over to the UK for me?

  7. now it’s WOW! gorgeous hotel, Sylvia! love everything esp your yellow suite and the reception lounge! nice picture of hubby all relaxed and happy! πŸ™‚

  8. Yes, I worried too, why hospital. I am so glad to learn the reality behinde the photographs now. It is amazing place… Thank you dear AD, greetings and blessing to you both, Love, nia

  9. That’s much better…what a gorgeous hotel, and nothing at all clinical about these pics! Love the reception lounge with the screens and the Palm Court restaurant for high tea. The perfect birthday present, so happy for you Sylvia πŸ™‚ xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

