Frayed Weaving, for the Weekly Photo Challenge.

The WPC this week, is Fray, which can mean, “unravelled, or worn at the edge”, as with this Weaver bird’s nest. The nest is built with great care, solely by the male weaver, hoping to attract a mate.

DSCN9074

He first frays and strips the palm fronds,

DSCN9062

and then weaves them intricately, to form a funnel-shaped nest.

DSCN9072

When he’s finished his masterpiece, he attempts to attract females by hanging upside down from his creation, whilst calling, and fluttering his wings. Unfortunately, the female of the species can be very ungrateful, and more often than not, is most scathing about his nest-building skills. She tells him so in no uncertain terms, and he then has to build a new nest from scratch, hoping against hope that this one will pass the test. This exercise can be repeated anything up to 4 or 5 times, so I guess that poor male weaver’s nerves must get somewhat ‘frayed’Β around the edges during the whole operation.

DSCN9096

To see more entries for this challenge, just click on the badge below.

wordpress-20141

78 comments on “Frayed Weaving, for the Weekly Photo Challenge.

  1. Adorable. I feel so sorry that he has to deal with so many shrewish females. Why can’t they all be kind and complimentary to their hard working mates, like you are to yours? My husband gets around it if he feels I haven’t been admiring enough by complimenting himself on his work quite a bit! May the bird should take a hint from him.

  2. The poor industrious male! We have whole colonies of them in South India, though I haven’t spotted any in my vicinity and certainly not on my mango tree. Lovely photos Sylvia.

  3. Absolutely dashing, wonderful depiction of the “frayed” theme! I adore the weaver birds. I could watch them for hours. Aye, and the females can be very harsh indeed. The nest must be a work of absolute perfection! Or so I have seen in documentaries. I really hope to see these birds live and in action someday in the wild. They fascinate me!

    And now to toss a wee video at you, as I just cannot resist, of another male bird who must work hard to impress the very choosy female- the lyrebird- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSB71jNq-yQ

    Beautiful shots and commentary to go along in this excellent post. Well done. Jubilant cheers,

    Autumn Jade

  4. Such stunning captures of these beautiful hard-working birds and their beautiful nests Sylvia. I feel so sorry for them if their hard work didn’t pay off. Some women! You just can’t satisfy them! πŸ˜† Great post for the challenge hon. β™₯ Hugs β™₯

  5. I should say that poor little guy is frayed about the edges…phew…but hopefully all his hard work was worth it in the end! I have always been fascinated by weaver birds and their nests, but have never seen one. So you can see why I enjoyed this post so much, thanks Sylvia πŸ™‚ Hope you had a good weekend, I’m catching up as always after a three day weekend here. xx

  6. I would love to see these birds around. They build nests near people. It would be cool to see these busy males working and females destroy one after another …. I would give the credit for the persistence. I guess it pays to be persistent πŸ™‚

      • Ha! Those fussy ladies certainly want it both ways, eh – turn their noses up a the guy’s nest building so he has to build another, yet keep it spare – I wonder who for then, if not the naughty cuckoos? πŸ™‚

  7. These are very much like the birds who build nests on our veranda. We used to have party lights and they would weave their nests only on the red ones – it looked SO cute (especially at night) πŸ˜€

  8. The weavers have already begun making lots of noise around the garden and I suspect the males will soon be building their nests.
    They like to tear strips from some of the plants in the pond. I am hoping to get some fun shots this year.

  9. M-m-m-m-m. Got me thinking. Already a second house in Florida is being fixed up.
    Is there going to be a third and fourth one? As i said once before: Females! Slave drivers! πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

