Brooklyn Edges for Ailsa’s theme.

For Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week,  I decided to show you some pics taken in Brooklyn last year.  Here is the side edge of this famous old bridge, which spans the East River between Manhattan and Brooklyn. It was completed in 1883, and is the oldest steel-wire suspension bridge in the US. When it was opened in 1903, it was the longest in the world with a main span of 1,595.5 feet (486.3 m).

Side edge of the Brooklyn Bridge

Side edge of the Brooklyn Bridge

Looking across the river, you can see the edge of Manhattan, with its iconic skyscrapers. Clearly visible, is the tallest skyscraper in the Western Hemisphere, the 1,776 ft tall, 104-storey‘ ‘One World Trade Centre’, which is built close to the site of the original ‘6 World Trade Centre’.

DSCN5218

In the nearby park, some Canada Geese were having a bit of a party at the water’s edge.

DSCN5247

I hope you’ve enjoyed my pics for Ailsa’s challenge. To join in and see more interpretations, just click here.

 

 

 

64 comments on “Brooklyn Edges for Ailsa’s theme.

  1. Thanks for the informative text … I did not know so much about the Brooklyn bridge before …
    US is a BIG country and I realize that it would take at least 1 year for me to see everything that I want to see over there …
    And who knows , someday I might do the trip over the Atlantic Ocean … In the mean time I will continue following your blog …
    Many hugs Sylvia from me ! … // Maria 🙂

  2. oooooo almost scary looking across that expanse and realizing that it was built in 1883 and people are now driving their cars across it. We have an old schoolhouse built in 1881 down the street from us. It is in pieces, most of them lying on the ground around the tilted part of the structure that still stands. I guess it’s all about maintenance. 🙂

  3. It’s hard to imagine the brilliant engineering that went into making a bridge of such length but with so few vertical supports. For a non-scientist and inept mathematician like me, yet there it is, still spanning the river after more than a century.

  4. Excellent post of all these marvelous edges. Absolutely marvelous. The geese especially made me grin. They do look mightily content!

    The locals here in town are terribly afraid of geese, and apparently down south in Hollywood areas of FL people are terrified of ducks. In particular, the roguish and terrifying, tail-wagging muscovy ducks. Apparently these geese and ducks are quite the bullies. Very formidable. I visited a friend in Hollywood and we were loitering about on her front patch of lawn, admiring her flowers, when SUDDENLY a small mother muscovy duck and 6 fluffy little ducklings waddled up. My friend lapsed into absolute terror and shot inside with greater speed than light. Sir, who was with me, was just as baffled as I, as we waddled up to the little family happily and were greeted by the duck as if she were more of a happy puppy than a fowl.

    I must be magical as I skip and twirl, cartwheel, careen and sing and cavort, amongst all these big brawny vicious attack ducks and geese all the time without injury (er, from the bully-birds, that is- my poorly executed acrobatics, however…) and they honk and pant (the muscovies) away in sheer delight, allowing me to pat them contentedly on the head, even the peeping little ducklings, just like Linus from Peanuts. 😉

    Cheers!

    Autumn Jade

    • Thanks so much, AJ. Aren’t those geese just the most enchanting little extras? I’m giggling at the thought of you doing arabesques and grand jetés amongst all those darling birds, whilst your friend looked on from the safety of her window, in abject amazement. 😀

Comments can start a conversation. :)

