Windows and clouds from Knightsbridge to Miami

I’m now back in Florida, after our week’s stopover in England, so thought I would combine windows I saw in London, with some pics that I took from our plane window as we came in to land at Miami airport.

The Harrods luxury department store in Knightsbridge, always has really stunning window displays.

DSCN9439

I loved these with the cloud effects.

IMG_6293

IMG_6296

IMG_6298

A few days later, we were up in the clouds, winging our way back to our Florida home.

IMG_6368

After almost ten hours, I was excited to look out of the window and see that we were almost there.

IMG_6371

Miami seen from above is quite an impressive sight, especially when you know that before long, you’ll be able to get out of that plane and stretch your legs.

IMG_6373

It’s great to be back here, and I’ve finally managed to unpack the cases and do the laundry and grocery shopping. Today we’ll go and have a look at the new roof on our ‘abandoned’ house. Now that the roof is complete and the house is watertight, hubby can get cracking on the inside, which is going to be quite a challenge.

Dawn’s ‘Lingering Look at Windows’ challenge is every Thursday, so do pop over and have a look.

 

 

 

 

92 comments on “Windows and clouds from Knightsbridge to Miami

  1. I loved your juxtaposition between the cloudy windows and seeing clouds through plane windows. Very clever! Plus, it really captured the sense of traveling from one place to the other. Seemed like you were ready to be home.

  2. I’m usually gripping my arm rests from the minute I board until the plane has landed. I’ll have to have my hubby grab a few shots next time. Good captures …. !!!
    Did you try on any Manolo Blahnik shoes? πŸ˜€
    It hasn’t stopped raining since I returned from my vacation. My yard is very wet.
    I know some are craving rain but my orchids are starting to look like tree. LOL

    • I’m sorry you don’t enjoy flying, Issy. Just remember that there’s a greater chance of you being hit by a bus or a taxi, than of being involved in a plane crash. πŸ˜€ No, I didn’t try on any shoes in Harrods. The assistants looked far too snooty, and the prices were ridiculously expensive. We’ve had plenty of rain in the few days we’ve been back here, but at the moment, it’s dry. πŸ™‚ Have a lovely Sunday. xx

  3. Welcome home! You are at home wherever you go, so that is more of a welcome back to USA soil. You bring the whole world closer to me in California, so FL seems close now! πŸ™‚ hehe Maybe my head is in the clouds like the swinger from Harrods. πŸ™‚ Have you moved in FL, too? It seemed like you had done some inside remodeling last year. Are you starting over?

    • We have two houses here. The one we are living in is where hubby totally gutted and remodeled the kitchen. The other one is at present uninhabitable, and a project which will keep him very busy for a while. I’ll post more pics in a day or two. πŸ™‚

      • He is such a busy guy no matter where you are! He reminds me of my hubby, but I slow V down some because his eyes are bigger than his ability to get everything done! He’s amazing though, but without me he wouldn’t have time to sleep or eat. πŸ™‚

  4. How I’d love to go shopping at Harrod’s! Going there is like stepping into a high fashion magazine that’s been taken over by a carnival. So much fun! Beautiful shots. Hope you are well!

    • Yes, we are very well, Elisa. Harrods is a fantasy store for sure. I spent a while gazing at all the totally ridiculous shoes at even more ridiculous prices. πŸ˜€ We did buy a mug though, and hubby treated me to a beautiful leather handbag. πŸ™‚

      • I always think of you as being in a distant time zone, but of course, you’re back in Florida, just hours away! I’m glad you got the mug, something practical you’ll use often but will still bring back find memories. I often buy dish towels when I travel..,something I use way TOO often! 😊

  5. I know it was nice to finally land in Florida after your long flight. I know both of you are anxious to get started on your “abandoned” house…to finally start making it your new home.

  6. I always like show cases or store windows decoration. The stores put a lot of efforts to make them look good. The cloudy window look interesting.

    A beautify sky you flew over and glad you back in Fl and do normal things πŸ™‚

  7. I’m so glad the roof is now on, Sylvia. Don’t forget those ‘before’ shots no matter how bad they may appear at first. I really wish I’d done some more for the RUC, but didn’t think of it at the time because it looked SO bad (lol) πŸ˜‰

  8. I bet you are so glad to be back and be able to settle down permanently. Renovating your new house – your own ‘Grand Designs’ will be so exciting, I do hope you will keep us posted!

  9. I’m going to say: Good luck, C, with all the work that lies ahead. πŸ˜‰
    I do miss flying between Joburg and Durban and looking at the scenery below.
    Have fun settling in permanently now.

  10. We are going to need a photographic diary of hubbies progress on the abandoned house… could make a nice photographic project for you… and at the same time we that are going to miss you here get to keep up with you there….

Comments can start a conversation. :)

