Splashes of colour for needy children.

Nancy Merrill has a ‘Photo a Week’ challenge. This week the subject is ‘Splash of Colour’.

When I was in England recently, visiting my 101-year-old Mil, I saw next to the sofa, a couple of plastic bags, one of which contained balls of brightly coloured wool.

IMG_6321

The other was filled with little woolly hats and mittens which she had lovingly crafted for needy children in some far off country.

IMG_6319

I asked her about this project, and she said it was organised by the Women’s Institute of which she has been a very active member for many decades. The hats and mittens would be put into prettily decorated shoe boxes, together with other items which little children would love. These shoe boxes would then be given as Christmas presents to children who may otherwise not receive anything.

IMG_6356

My dear MiL is herself a wonderful ‘Splash of Colour’ in her community, and over the years, must have baked hundreds of cakes and knitted millions of stitches for various charitable causes. The Women’s Institute was founded two years after she was born, to revitalise rural communities and encourage women to become more involved in producing food during the First World War. It’s now the largest voluntary women’s organisation in the UK, with over 212,00 members. I hope that she will live long enough to help them celebrate their centenary next year. She looks pretty good for her age, doesn’t she?

 

84 comments on “Splashes of colour for needy children.

  1. Amazing lady … 101 years old … she looks at least 20 years younger and I love the colorful dress she has on. And she are still able to knit. I take my hat off for her.

  2. What a worthy cause your MIL has embarked upon. She looks wonderful and I hope she is able to help this wonderful organization celebrate their centenary.

  3. Oh Sylvia, I love your mother in law 🙂 She is a wonderful woman and what a beautiful, kind heart. My dear granny was a member of the W.I. for many years and was always knitting for causes such as these. What a lovely memory and a lovely post. I can’t think of a better splash of colour to brighten any day 🙂 xx

  4. I made ‘fish and chip’ knitted jumpers for Africa the other year, Ad. I enjoyed doing it and wouldn’t mind a little project. 🙂 Lisa mentioned some knitted poppies (to do with WWII, I think). You just reminded me to Google it for the pattern.
    Ma-in-law still looking good 🙂

  5. Oh wow, hats off to your MIL. I don’t think they include knitted gear in the local christmas-shoe-box – oh wait, we have summer hols then. never mind the blonde!

  6. She is truly an inspiration to everyone out there Sylvia and such a beauty! Those hats and mittens are just gorgeous. I love the colours. 😀

  7. She is unbelievable… to still be contributing to those in need at that age… wonderful and she looks as though she has many years left in her…
    At my Moms OA home there was a lady that still fiddle in her little garden till she passed at the age of 103… she could bend down to weed the garden and work like that for ages… I struggle to do that and she gives me many years… more than many years actually…

  8. What a beautiful life and woman she is, and a great cause to be in. I wish her and all the volunteers the best. Bless them for bringing joy to others. 🙂

  9. The most beautiful of colors are those made by the heart’s generosity to love, care and give. Mil is truly a light and exuding with colors that warms and inspires us all. May we never forget during the holidays that so many children may not receive gifts and it’s up to us to let them feel the spirit of Christmas.

  10. If I ever reach 101 I would love to look like your Mil. She looks so full of life and doing her knitting for those on need she will make someone else’s life happy

Comments can start a conversation. :)

