WPC Nighttime: Christmas in New York

The Weekly Photo Challenge, this week invites us to show some of our nighttime shots. Last Christmas we went up to New York, and of course had to go into the city to experience the wonder of the Christmas lights.

The world famous big tree at the Rockefeller Centre,Β  last year was 76 ft tall, and decorated with thousands of lights. At the very top is a Swarovski crystal star, which I was amazed to learn, is 9,5 feet in diameter and weighs 550 lbs.

DSCN7356

The art deco style Rockefeller Centre looks really spectacular at night.

DSCN7385

The Empire State Building with its red, white and green lighting, was not to be outdone.

DSCN7374

The Saks 5th Avenue windows were a wonder to behold.

DSCN7408

DSCN7414

DSCN7419

If you get tired of window shopping, you can always go and watch the skaters in the park.

DSCN7399

There are only 83 days until Christmas comes around again. Just thought I’d remind you.

To see more entries for the ‘Nighttime’ challenge, or to take part, click on the badge below.

wordpress-20141

 

 

 

 

 

64 comments on “WPC Nighttime: Christmas in New York

  1. These are spectacular Sylvia. I would love to go to New York…have driven through but never stayed and that was in 1980! About time don’t you think? πŸ™‚

  2. How did I miss this one! I LOVE Christmas in NYC and we go every year. My brothers all live in NJ with their families, and our kids are in NYC. It’s the only time I go there in the winter and don’t resent the cold πŸ˜„ Lovely shots!

  3. There is no Christmas lights like NYC’s, remember some of your fantastic images from your previous post – I was thinking about spending Christmas in NYC this year, but I chose Istanbul instead, because they don’t celebrate Christmas, life is normal there. I really want to get away from Christmas.

  4. Great series. Last year I tried to persuade my family for a NYC visit at Christmas, but it wasn’t so easy… πŸ˜‰ They thought I’m a little crazy. And I said, oh yes, so it is…. πŸ˜€

  5. the song “I love new york” is playing in my head after seeing these wonderful night shots – and I do not have many things on a bucket list – but new york at Xmas is on my list – we usually go during other times and well – thanks for the tease – all pics are cool but the second one screamed majestic NYC ❀

      • it is such a great place – and in a small way you have me sorta thinking about the holidays. Just a little bit as the cool fall air blows in this Virginia town – just a tiny bit – oh – and I also want to skate there someday too – we almost did on our last trip but ran out of time. πŸ™‚

  6. Like Ingrid said to Bogey: “We will always have New York”. (Or did I get that one wrong?) πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing. Be good.
    Brian

  7. I think when one is in NY or any major city there must be a wonderful Chrismassy (or Holiday) feeling for young and old. I just wouldn’t like to hear the Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas. Its so PC.
    I will start my shopping tomorrow πŸ˜‰

  8. Would dearly love to go to NY for Christmas but my husband although he loves america does not like NY or shopping *sad face*. And then of course here we have to get house and dogsitters…. So you will have to let the photos come! But I am not a Christmas person for that is for children! My kids are all grown up now.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

