Inside Harrods’ Shoe Heaven, for Ailsa’s Travel Theme

Harrods department store, built in the early 1900’s, is one of London’s main tourist attractions, with over 100,000 customers passing through it’s doors every day. Hubby and I always have to go in for a wander when we’re in London. We don’t spend big money in there, maybe a few pounds on a couple of their beautiful mugs, but we do love to explore the seven floors full of of fascinating wares. This is the central Egyptian escalator which was designed for Mohammed Fayed, at a cost ofย ยฃ30 million.

IMG_6282

IMG_6283

 

IMG_6290

I spotted a sign advertisingย  ‘SHOE HEAVEN’, so of course we had to head on over there as fast as possible.

The prices were as ridiculous as some of the shoes, and besides which, there wasn’t a single pair that actually waved to me, so to hubby’s great relief, we wandered out of shoe heaven without burning any plastic.

The last department we looked around, was the interior design. I would have taken more photos, but the snooty-looking assistants were hovering everywhere. It looks as though mismatched colours are all the rage this season.

IMG_6291

In stark contrast to Harrods’ interior, here is a pic hubby just sent me from our other house. The tile ripper-uppers have arrived and are hard at work. Do you think this distressed look could catch on for next season?

IMG_6504

Hop you’ve enjoyed my “from the sublime to the ridiculous” interior pics. Have a great Monday.

To see more entries for Ailsa’s Travel Theme, just click on the link.

 

 

 

88 comments on “Inside Harrods’ Shoe Heaven, for Ailsa’s Travel Theme

  1. I was in Harrods during the summer and was admiring the Egyptian staircase too. We enjoyed wandering round the sumptuous Food Hall – the decoration is almost better than the tasty food on offer!
    I see the workmen in the other house are coordinating their clothes with their machinery and equipment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Your comments gave me a smile. I’ve been to Harrod’s twice. Both times I walked around and left without spending a penny. I hadn’t gone to shop; I’d gone to see. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Inside | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  4. I take all visitors I have to Harrods, it is worth wandering around here. Also the food halls. I wanted to try a hat on last time but the price tag was so high I didn’t dare…. and it was not gold plated… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hi S- well I have been to Harrods in the late 80’s – and funny – but I think I bought a mug too – and maybe a shirtโ€ฆ can’t recall but I had the bag for a while.
    anyhow, enjoyed your interior post – and cool shot of the mismatch fabrics – and shoe heaven not such a haven – ha! and the distressed look could catch on – let’s get is circulating – jk!
    have a great rest of the day โค

  6. I’ve always heard of Harrods and, of course, if I ever get to England, it’s a definite to do! Love the pictures. The place has to be amazing. Of course outrageous prices usually go along with amazing stuff! Maybe the multi-patterned sofa was a fabric sampler! heehee! I forget if you said, are you retiling or carpeting or hardwood?

  7. Love the escalator! I haven’t been inside Harrods for decades – I am surprised they didn’t arrest you for taking photos, they might have thought you were casing the joint ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I love your BIG windows in your new house – can just see one of those mulit-coloured sofas there – or not ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thanks, Jude. I think they sort of expect tourists to take a few pics. Maybe it’s good for business. Free advertising if the photos they go on Tripadvisor. ๐Ÿ™‚
      As for the multi-coloured sofa….I don’t think so. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  8. everything in harrods is beautiful and pricey! my daughter and i were there two weeks ago. i didn’t know MF spent that much money for the central escalator ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Those shoes are something else and so is the mismatched decor. Am glad hubby didn’t talk you into looking for work boots to help him with the transition. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like things are moving right along.

  10. I find flat shoes most uncomfortable;e as I do very high heels… So I probably would settle for another store when it comes to shoes because I would be too tempted ?

  11. That is some escalator… I bet hubby was in a panic when you went looking for shoes… …. I know I do when Linda heads that way… not that I would even take her there. …

  12. I got lost when I saw the boots. I love boots! You won’t get me away from that place for sure Sylvia. ๐Ÿ˜€ Great shots hon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I haven’t been inside Harrod’s for years so wouldn’t have seen the Egyptian escalator. Looks…interesting. I can only imagine the price of those shoes, yikes ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Great to see the last photo Sylvia, it’s a great look ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Oooh lovely pics – are you allowed to take photos in Harrods? When I tried to they came down on me like a ton of bricks – miserable weather, go figure!

    Go strippers, go strippers!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

