WPC Refraction: A Touch of the Blues

This weeks Photo Challenge is ‘Refraction’ and my first thought was to look for photos of rainbows, but as I posted most of them on my Victoria Falls post last week,Β  I had to think again.

Off the coast of the beautiful Isle of Capri, is the Blue Grotto (Grotto Azzurra), where the sunlight, passing through an underwater cavity and shining up through the seawater, is refracted onto the rock walls, creating an intense blue reflection which magically illuminates the whole cavern.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The only entrance into the grotto, is through a 1.5m hole in the cave wall, barely large enough to admit a small rowing boat. The occupants have to lie down, and in my case, I had a rather large lady squashing me very flat against the bottom of the boat. My recently purchased white linen shorts and shirt would never be the same again. It was worth it though, to see this truly wondrous sight.

To see more entries for this challenge, click on the badge.

 

 

wordpress-20141

 

 

 

91 comments on “WPC Refraction: A Touch of the Blues

  1. The Blue Grotto is one of the world’s most enchanting places. When I was on Capri, we were unable to view it. Until I get back there, I’ll just gaze upon your beautiful photos. πŸ™‚

  2. OK Sylvia you win the best refraction award in my book!!! Very very cool. I’m very glad you posted it because I’ll never see it. My claustrophobia would stop me from going thru the hole to get there!😑

      • I agree with Tina, my claustrophobia would probably not let me see this in person (I can’t imagine adding the smothered feeling of a stranger’s bosoms to that mix!). But what a reward the light was for you … and us! Thank you for sharing it.

  3. The grotto looks stunning! I love the blue and intense colors!!! Even though rainbows are amazing as well! I have a fantastic picture of a rainbow over palm trees on a beach in Palawan/Philippines!!! One of the moments to remember πŸ™‚

    Greetings from a German traveller πŸ™‚
    Martin

      • When these incidents happen it doesn’t seem funny, but when you put it in words everyone can see it happening to them, but they are happy that it happened to you instead! πŸ™‚ Just my guess – not that I want to see you squished. You are far too nice to be squished, which is probably why she squished you. Just think if she had laid back on someone wearing a prickly sweater or someone with jewelry sticking sharply out of every part of their body! She wouldn’t have been so anxious to squish. People think I’m funny sometimes, too. When I try to be funny, I’m generally not! πŸ™‚ Go figure! πŸ™‚

  4. what an adventure to go here and see this – and laughing pretty hard at how subtly you wrote about being squished like that – and your outfit never being the same – you are funny….
    and cool take for the WPC πŸ™‚

    • No, we weren’t offered the chance to swim there. The boatmen seemed to be in a bit of a hurry to get us out again, so that they could pick up the next passengers. 😦 It must be a wonderful experience.

    • I had to be nice, as we’d become quite good friends during the tour. This is probably why she thought she could lie on top of me. πŸ˜€ I should have known better than to wear my new linen outfit for this trip. πŸ˜•

  5. What a beautiful blue and how amazing to have witnessed this glorious sight…once you emerged from beneath your travelling ‘companion’. I love reading about your adventures Sylvia! Have a lovely weekend and see you soon πŸ™‚ xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

