Word a Week Challenge: Reclining Golden ‘Boys’.

Sue’s latest Word a Week’ challenge is ‘Recline’. When I see or hear that word, I immediately think of our visit to the  ‘Wat Phra Chettuphon Wimon Mangklaram Ratchaworamahawihan’ temple in Bangkok. (Try saying that without your teeth in.) Better known as ‘Wat Pho’, this temple is home to the ‘Reclining Buddha’. It’s the largest Buddha in Thailand at 46 x 15 metres, and is covered from head to toe in gold leaf. The eyes and the soles of its feet are inlaid with mother-of-pearl. The statue barely fits into the space provided, so I had to ‘chop off’ his feet to get the pic. I also cropped it to get rid of all the tourists crowding around him.

DSCF3140

Today, we fly off to New Jersey to visit our family there. Little Max, the youngest member,  likes to do a bit of reclining himself. Our son sent us this selfie at the weekend.

 

IMG_6530

I may be a bit scarce for a few days, so please just talk amongst yourselves until I return, and do have a great weekend. 🙂

To see more entries to Sue’s challenge, click here.

 

 

 

61 comments on “Word a Week Challenge: Reclining Golden ‘Boys’.

  1. Looks like he had lots of fun indeed. That is a great selfie Sylvia. They are both so handsome. Great ‘recline’ entry hon. 😀

  2. So adorable. Not Buddha, but your kiddos. Buddha looks comfortably rich. How does he live with himself having that much gold painted all over his body? So much for humility. 🙂

  3. I saw the Reclining Buddha when I was in Bangkok. What an impressive statue! That was an amazing holiday and you’ve brought to mind some wonderful memories. Thank you. 🙂

  4. Have a wonderful time with our family. I like your “recline”. Terrific selfie of your son and grandson. I appreciate your visits, likes and comments on my blog, Sylvia.
    xxoo ( I graduated from Morristown NJ High School years ago)

  5. Wow, that Buddha is massive, must be worth an absolute fortune! Love the photo of your ‘boys’. Have a wonderful time Sylvia, see you when you get back 🙂 xx

  6. I’ve seen this one Sylvia – and you are right, it is impossible to photograph the entire statue. And very dark inside too. I think you have done extremely well with this. Have fun with the family 🙂

Comments can start a conversation. :)

