Amsterdam First Impressions

My lovely South African niece Chere, has recently moved to Amsterdam. She is already in love with her new city. Why not follow her on her new adventure. She writes really well, and I’m so looking forward to reading all about her experiences in Holland.

looking for signs

Amsterdam

Amsterdam has charmed and cast a spell over me already.  I have been here for 1 week and 1 day, although I have covered so much ground that it feels longer. I started off in a B&B on the edge of beautiful Rembrant Park and have now moved to Oud Zuid.  My new flatmates (from Latvia and Venezuela) and I are waiting to hear news on an apartment we want in Jordaan, an area people keep telling us, is really hip and vibey. I have been to the city center, to Kalverstraat, to Dam Square, all the touristy areas and of course, the Red Light District. I made my way to a very cool ‘locals’ bar, Pacific Bar, in Westerpark, to meet a new french friend I met through the Couch Surfing website. Yesterday, I spent some time in Museumplein, home to the Van Gogh, Rijks & Stedelijk museums. I have been horrifically…

View original post 1,222 more words

38 comments on “Amsterdam First Impressions

  1. Amsterdam is a wonderfully vibrant place. I haven’t been for many years and would love to go again. Thanks for the link to your niece’s new blog, I will head over there now 🙂

  2. Lovely indroduction – Amsterdam is a fantastic city .. been a couple of time and got robbed every time. *laughing – but I will would go back. My bike was damage in our basement fire, so maybe I should get a RED one.*smile

      • She is young and if she is willing to work with anything there will be jobs, but Europe is hard when it’s about jobs. Sweden terrible.
        It’s a fantastic city and I can imaging she finds it fun and exciting. Good luck to her. *smile

Comments can start a conversation. :)

