Snakes alive, it’s Halloween!

The weird little fellas in my header, were scattered round the vegetable department in ‘Target’, so I introduced them to one another, took a pic, and left them to have a cosy chat.There’s really not much going on in our immediate neighbourhood for Halloween. We were in Home Depot yesterday looking at bathroom fittings for our new/old house, and I saw hardly any Halloween stuff, but there were loads of Christmas trees and decorations already. Last year we bought candy, just in case any ‘Trick or Treaters’ came to our door, and ended up having to eat a myriad little packets of M&M’s, all by ourselves, over the next few weeks. What a terrible imposition!!

Hubby and I decided to go for a walk after dinner to see what scary things we could find, and this was the most spooky, all lit up, but it certainly didn’t rate very high on the horror scale. In fact, looking at it more closely, I think he could be a Saint Francis, so probably not even remotely Halloween-ish.

IMG_6648

Our neighbour, who decorates his front garden for every festival throughout the year, had hauled his usual suspects out of their storage place in the garage. They all look very friendly, even the ‘wicked’ witch.

IMG_6656

I guess it’s not the done thing here in Florida to frighten the old folk. It’s quite a different story up in New Jersey. The more grisly, gruesome and macabre, the better.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The scariest thing I’ve seen recently is this Red Rat Snake which we found yesterday, nestled between some spare roof tiles in our garden. Do you think he’s spine-chilling, or just rather pretty? Thankfully he’s not venomous, so we’ll let him live. He’d better not even think of coming into the house though.

IMG_6639

Happy Halloween everyone, and have a great weekend too.

65 comments on “Snakes alive, it’s Halloween!

  1. St Francis looks a trifle lurid for my liking Sylvia …
    I’d have jumped a mile seeing that snake attractive or no … fast thinking to go fetch your camera πŸ™‚

  2. I love all the creative dΓ©cor you found around the neighborhood. It all looks amazing!! I used to do the same in Canada as well – I love walking around and seeing the creative Halloween displays the neighbors put together!!

    Happy Halloween! Hope it was a good one!

  3. That’s quite a bit of Halloween decorations around your neighbourhood. Maybe most people there are quite casual about the occasion. That’s hilarious, you had to eat the M&Ms yourselves last year – I would have gladly helped you out! I hoped the same thing didn’t happen again this year πŸ˜€

    • Thanks for your kind offer, Mabel. πŸ™‚ We didn’t buy any candy this year, as we realise that no kids are going to come trick or treating in our gated community. I didn’t even eat the chocolate that’s been hiding in my cupboard for at least a week. We could share that. πŸ™‚

  4. Happy Halloween Sylvia! My kids asked today if everyone around the world celebrated it and I said no. I was wondering if it is ever celebrated in South Africa? I know you are in FL now but curious if it ever moved there.

  5. Halloween is not a big deal in Australia, so I have never really bothered with it, but this year in Italy I am going to the celebrations at the nearby Devil’s bridge, which should be interesting.

  6. I used to have to eat all the Halloween candy too so I bought what I liked. πŸ˜€ Now I know that children never come down our very dark road at night and don’t buy any candy. Happy Halloween!

  7. How awful you got to eat all that candy, haha πŸ˜‰ Oh Sylvia, when you mention Target and Home Base I get a lurch in my stomach. I get so homesick for California and memories of my days with the kids trick or treating and carving their pumpkins as you know. But it’s lovely to be reminded of these places. Love the pumpkins and I agree, New Jersey is definitely more scary. As for that snake, well you know how I feel about them so for me, that photo is definitely the scariest of all πŸ˜‰ Good job for your sakes he isn’t venemous. Hope you get more trick or treaters this year, we are ready to go, just waiting for my daughter to come up with the Jack-O-Lantern. Happy Halloween Sylvia πŸ™‚ xx

  8. NO reptiles, please!!! πŸ™‚ I’m afraid of nothing/nobody with one exception: reptiles, kinda repulsion, I presume… πŸ™‚
    * * *
    have a super weekend, Paradise Lady! ❀

    • Thanks, MΓ©lanie. I don’t mind looking at snakes, lizards and alligators, but only from a safe distance. We have a whole family of iguanas living in the garden of our other house. You certainly wouldn’t like that. πŸ™‚ Happy weekend to you. xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

