‘Made in the ‘1940’s’, for Ed’s Challenge

My first reaction when I saw Ed’s Sunday Stills Challenge this week, was “Well, I was made in the 1940’s, but that’s probably not quite what Ed is looking for.”

I’m not famous like some old monuments are. For example, who hasn’t heard of the Mount Rushmore National Monument? Although it was commissioned in 1925, and work on it began in 1927, it was such a vast project, that it was only completed in 1941. In this photo showing the back and side of the site, you can see the kind of terrain that the sculptors had to deal with.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Between October 1927 and October 1941, American sculptor Gutzon Borglum and 400 workers, sculpted these 60 ft high carvings of the four American presidents, representing the first 130 years of American history. Sadly, Borglum died a few months before the completion of his amazing creation.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Just 17 miles away, another colossal sculpture can be found. It is said that the Mount Rushmore sculpture would Β fit into just the head ofΒ  the ‘ChiefΒ  Crazy Horse’ memorial. We watched the IMAX presentation, and this image shows how big it is, compared to both the Washington Monument and the Statue of Liberty.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

It was started in 1948 by a Polish American, Korczak Ziolkowski and since his death in 1982, his wife and seven of his ten children have carried on the work, and as you can see, they’ve still got a long way to go. I wonder whether it will ever be completed, even before 2040.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Well there you have two old monuments, and here’s me, also ‘made in the 1940’s’. It’s a studio portrait, and the only photo I have of me as a baby. You see, I was even smiling before I had teeth! πŸ™‚

e16a1e1e-3392-4a5d-b682-5546208c5276

I hope you’ve enjoyed my entry for Ed’s Challenge. Why not join in the fun? He does a new one every Sunday.

 

 

 

69 comments on “‘Made in the ‘1940’s’, for Ed’s Challenge

  1. You look adorable in that picture Sylvia! Your charm doesn’t seem to have diminished one bit after all these years πŸ™‚ Thanks for the back-stories on the monuments.

  2. Interesting history on those huge sculptures Sylvia, I wonder if Crazy Horse will ever be finished. Maybe not in our time. What a lovely smiley baby you were. I’ll join you in that 40’s decade. Don’t feel that ancient though… πŸ™‚

  3. You may not be as famous as the monuments but you’re definitely famous here. Plus, you have a great personality which I’m sure the monuments don’t have πŸ˜‰

  4. I enjoyed the mini history lesson and oh Sylvia – that photo touched my heart – what a smile!!! and did I read a 101 years old m-i-L? woo hoo ❀ ❀

  5. Love the last one best of all… if I were still doing challenges, I could also be classified as ‘made in the 40s’… I’m doing my best to not turn out colossal πŸ˜€

  6. Great response to the challenge! Seeing Mt Rushmore for the first time was quite literally breath-taking. No matter how many times I had seen it previously in photos and film, nothing compared to seeing it personally. Great shot from the monument’s side. It really does add a perspective that many don’t pay any attention to.

  7. Wow, those monuments are huge. I hadn’t heard about the Crazy Horse memorial so thank you for this interesting history lesson. I also hadn’t taken on board just how long these memorials take/took to sculpture. Sad that Borglum didn’t get to see the end result of all his years of hard work. But you know my favourite here Sylvia is your darling baby pic. What a beautiful, happy little soul you were…and still are πŸ˜€ xx

  8. I mean where does one start on such sculptures this size Sylvia … mind boggling .. just one wrong hit with the chisel and your reputation in shreds or your head on the block πŸ˜€
    Oh look at you .. sweet … your Mum’s knitting needles must have been clickety-clacking for months !

  9. Awwww, you were just the cutest baby ever Sylvia and you still have that beautiful smile! πŸ˜€

    Love those mountain sculpures. Such amazing talent these people have. πŸ˜€

    Stunning shots and thanks for sharing hon. β™₯

  10. I was deeply impressed to visit Rushmore years ago… as for the smiling lil’ gal, call me to baby-sit, please: she’s cute, sweet and easy-goin’, I guess… πŸ˜‰

  11. That is a beautiful photo of you, Sylvia. I’ve never seen the Mount Rushmore National Monument (in real life), but I could imagine it would be awesome. The Crazy Horse memorial may not be finished in our lifetimes, but I’m sure it will be spectacular.

  12. By the looks of the photo under your title, it appears there are some natural faces behind the carved ones. Cool! (Or is it just me that sees that?)
    And it’s confirmed. You’ve been adorable since the 40β€˜s. πŸ˜‰

  13. Thank you for the write up. You make it so much more interesting than wikipedia. πŸ™‚
    I’m planning to live to 100 or more. Aren’t you?
    I will keep you in my Reader for the Chief’s update.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

