Safety in Numbers. Companions for Sue’s Word a Week Challenge

Our dear little ducks have been missing since we got back here to our home in Florida, and I was thinking that the alligator had perhaps eaten them all. At the weekend I was so happy when they decided to put in an appearance on the lake. The members of this little group, look very companionable, and the one bringing up the rear, seems to be on lookout duty. (Click on image to enlarge.)

DSCN9968

I found some interesting info about ducks on this ‘PETA’ site, which says that ducks are very sociable and happiest when they’re in larger groups of other ducks. These groups are called ‘Paddlings’, which I think is rather cute. They swim around together in shallow water looking for food, and then snuggle up together with their fellow ‘paddlings’ at night.

To see more ‘companions’ for Sue’s challenge, just click here.

69 comments on “Safety in Numbers. Companions for Sue’s Word a Week Challenge

  1. Pingback: A Word a Week Photography Challenge-Companion | WoollyMuses

  2. le oche ( che poi non sono affatto stupide quanto si creda) sono fra gli animali che più amo, mentre detesto molto il subdolo coccodrillo, specialmente se davvero avesse divorato le ochette! 😦

  3. A new and delightful term, indeed- “paddlings.” FAR too cute. Loved the photo. I swim with cormorants in the ocean from time to time, and very often see them in greater groups in the tiny ponds down the way, brimming with fish. Gator-less at the moment, to their delight πŸ˜‰ Lovely photo, beautiful lighting. I can almost see their crackling, navy-blue eyes. Cheers!

    Autumn Jade

      • Sometimes we accidentally bonk into each other- typical for a bumbling person like me- I am not sure how fond the cormorants are of these sudden aquatic collisions, however. They usually speed off after shoot a murky blue glance at me. I also bonk into sting-rays from time to time, which is always very slippery and velvety, and sometimes into jellies- not so velvety. I constantly bash into fish. Cartilaginous and bony alike. Once I accidentally stepped on a fish- bony one, luckily. It was a very large fish, too, and it sent me hurtling and whoa-ing all over the place as it shot out from under my intruding foot and then took me a little distance in its incredible wake. Then, of course, I have also had swipes with coy-eyed sea turtles (though not coy-eyed when they realize a human has just become entangled in their flippers). How quickly they vanish after those little bouts…sigh…

        Wow, I guess I must go speed-boat speeds out there…I never realized how many animals I tend to bash into!

      • Oh, my giddy aunt!! You do lead a very unusual life. There can’t be too many folk in this world who are constantly bashing into fish and turtles, etc.. I do lead a very boring and monotonous life in comparison. 😦

      • When I moved to the ocean, I thought the clumsiness and collision-problem would end when at sea, but for me…OF COURSE NOT! I’m even worse on land…thankfully I have no landed on anyone yet when falling out of trees- that is ONE collision I have so far avoided.

        Har har your life is NOT boring at all!! Your life is absolutely crackling with colour and adventure, love and beauty. Your blog is an endless tribute to this, and always such a deep joy to visit. A spectacular and dazzling life, to say the very least!!

        Har har and be happy you can keep your balance and sense of direction a lot better than I can! πŸ˜‰ Believe me, it is a blessing πŸ˜‰ Especially when it comes to bonking into dog-walking people- with all those leashes…Pet-camera and I go sprawling right in the middle, completely tangled up, every time…blast!

        Cheers!

        Autumn Jade

  4. Love this shot. Glad to see they’ve returned for you. Once, a number of years ago, I was seated on the Lake Huron shore and saw 4 or 5 pairs of Canada geese encircling some 40 goslings, swimming about 30 feet offshore. When they noticed me, they guided the little ones further away from shore. I’d never seen anything like that before or since. I wonder if ducks do the same.

  5. Awwww, they are so adorable and I am very glad they made an appearance and wasn’t eaten. Very interesting info. Thanks for sharing these lovelies with your stunning photos hon. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  6. I love seeing ducks on the water but hate it when they try to cross the road. I’ve seen a mother and her duckings stop traffic on a major road at peak hour. No one complained, they just sat in their cars and let them pass (which was wonderful) πŸ˜‰

    • That must have been a sight to see, Dianne. I remember seeing a mommy duck leading her family through a busy car park in Florida. I was so concerned for their safety, but she looked so confident. It was really cute to watch. πŸ™‚

  7. Ducks in a large group may think they are in a party, so they like it. I am wonder they ever fight when they are in the large group. I like how you think the last one in the group is looking out for the paddling. He might spot a young female duck some where πŸ˜‰

  8. I think the guy at the end of the line has ADHD. πŸ™‚ And to not put too fine a point on things, the similar looking birds that spread their wings to dry after fishing are Anhingas, though these guys are definitely Cormorants.

    • Thanks, Ron. I had a laugh at the ADHD. πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen these cormorants drying their wings the same way that the Anhingas do, but apparently they also use the same method. The Anhinga swims with its body under water, and has a longer neck and bill than these ‘ducks’. πŸ˜€

  9. Glad you added the “not” to your sentence and I see where Gunta identified your paddlings as Comorants. Now that we’re all on the same page, I’m happy that you found some companions to admire. πŸ™‚

  10. Sylvia I had never heard of Paddlings but will be sure to remember the term when the ducks return in the spring. Happy to hear the alligators were not have ducks for dinner!

  11. Paddling…that is cute. I don’t go looking around at ducks like some people do, but those ducks that I have looked around at always seem to be looking around. πŸ™‚
    That is safety!
    My husband always tells me to look around before getting out of the car.

  12. I noticed that you wanted the alligator to have eaten your birds in the email announcing your post… I was mighty glad to see you had corrected that. Not to be too picky, but I think perhaps your ducks are actually cormorants – the birds that stand around drying their armpits because they don’t have the waterproof feathers that ducks do.

    • I’m sure you’re right, Gunta. From where I was standing, they looked like ducks. In fact anything that isn’t a GBH or a Great Egret, looks a bit like a duck. Now I’m really worried about the actual ducks. 😦

  13. Lovely picture of ‘paddlings’ Sylvia .
    It’s term I didn’t know … and having looked at your link the thought of ducks having ‘regional’ accents has made me πŸ˜€

Comments can start a conversation. :)

