Above Machu Picchu for Ailsa’s Travel Theme.

Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week, brought to mind the wonderful view from the top of Machu Picchu, the ‘Lost City of the Incas’, which I was privileged to visit in 2003.

(Click on photos for a larger, sharper view.)

DSCF0606
This ancient Inca city, is believed by most archaeologists to have been built as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti (1438-72). It had lain hidden amidst dense jungle-covered mountains until in 1911, when American historian Hiram Bingham, announced his discovery.

DSCF0598

The well-preserved ruins overlooking the Vilcanata river valley, seem to almost cling to the steep hillside, and are surrounded by colossal green mountains. Even if you’ve seen photos of this wondrous structure, it doesn’t really prepare you for the breathtaking and awe-inspiring sight when you see it firsthand.

DSCF0611

Of course, to see the amazing views from above, you have to actually get up there, and we were transported at speed along this narrow winding road with many hazardous hairpin bends. Meeting another vehicle head on seemed a very likely possibility, but the drivers were fortunately very experienced, and although my heart was in my mouth most of the way up and down, we made it safely.

DSCF0600

To see more entries for Ailsa’s Theme, just click here.

 

 

66 comments on “Above Machu Picchu for Ailsa’s Travel Theme.

  1. must be an incredible feeling to be up there! and to think that a community once lived there is beyond me. great capture, Sylvia! thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. wow – what cool shots and I read your comment to lucid g. about the tea and adjusting to the altitude – and wow – that is high up there – and what great photos you give us. πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. Brilliant photos Sylvia, just absolutely cracking. My mum and dad used to have ‘Saturday boys’ to help them out at work. One of them left to travel and sent me postcards, one of which was Machu Pichu. He (and his older brother who also worked for m and d) came from a poor Catholic family on a rough council estate. The older one went on to become a successful lawyer, and the Machu Pichu one went into journalism. So whenever I see Machu Pichu I think of them, how they had a poor start in life and got somewhere, maybe my mum and dad helped them a teeny bit of the way. Who knows.

    • Yes, the altitude is a problem for some people, as Cuzco is 11,500ft above sea level. I suffered from blinding headaches and nausea the first night, but after copious amounts of Coca Tea and some Disprin, I was right as ninepence the next day. πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for sharing the photos and information. In 1972 we were in South America we al wanted to visit the Incas. Sad to say the young ones, like us, could not go because we did not have the money. Those who had the money could not go because they were too old, (breathing problems) Would have liked to go there.

  5. Breathtakingly beautiful views from up there! I’ve always been fascinated by the secrets of ancient ruins…this one still remains on the bucket listπŸ˜ƒ

  6. I’m not sure I would have been brave enough to endure that road (without a tranquilizer!) You are so very courageous, but I bet it was all worth it in the end.

  7. That mountain road looks like a snake with all its turns and bends. We have been my fair share of mountain roads in Taiwan and I know how scary they can be. However, the view is usually worth it and it your case, it was magnificent. I would love to see Machu Picchu.

  8. That is an amazing sight – one you will never forget! I’m not crazy about making heart in mouth journeys, but if I make it, I’d better be smart like you and take lots of pictures to prove I did it! πŸ™‚ These are gorgeous! πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

