Lighthouse Progress for Paula’s Thursday Special

This week, Paula’s ‘Thursday’s Special’ theme is ‘Imperfection’. I think this would be a good place to show you the progress I’ve made with my lighthouse painting. This was my third art class, and I would have liked to have got a bit further by now, but this week, my more experienced classmates were quite demanding of the teacher’s attention, and I got a bit neglected. I’m going to have to practice shouting,”When you’ve got a minute!” as they do. πŸ™‚

IMG_6804

There’s still a lot of work to do, but it’s coming on quite well. I doubt it will ever be perfect, but it’s not bad for a first effort. I still have to add a few seagulls and also some grasses in the foreground. I think that next time, I’ll choose to paint something a bit more abstract, rather than a structure. Getting the 3D effect is quite tricky.

To see more entries for Paula’s challenge, click on the badge below.

jupiter-widget_text-e1395873810536

95 comments on “Lighthouse Progress for Paula’s Thursday Special

  1. Your painting is truly awesome Sylvia, especially for your first attempt, it will be amazing when it’s finished! Artistic talents obviously runs in the family.

  2. Sylvia, this is absolutely beautiful, I really mean it. I love the colours and the shading, I would hang it as it is, honestly. It is so calming to look at. I really do think you have some amazing talent πŸ™‚ xx

    • Thanks, MΓ©lanie. That’s exactly what I thought, but I’ve realised in the last three weeks that one can actually learn to paint and draw. I always thought it was a natural talent that one either had or didn’t have. I’m not sure if it will become a passion as it has with my sister, but at least I’ve tried it. πŸ™‚

  3. Lovely colour palette I love the tones in the lighthouse, it glows. Grass and seagulls will be the perfect finishing touches. I can see the family talent has rubbed off on you. Thanks for showing it to us, will look forward to the finished art work…

  4. I love the light source coming to the side of the light house like that – and what a great subject – thanks for the update – and now I am going to listen tot he Taylor song you linked int he above comment… πŸ™‚
    have a great day amiga

      • Hi S – yes, I did enjoy that song = and it was so nice to flashback because it seems like James Taylor is just one of those musicians that was always on – his music is a part of yesteryear…. and what a unique and peasant voice he has πŸ™‚

        (now I am going to listen to fire and rain (and remember when it used to play everyday in a 4 hour music loop at a job I had in ’92) –

  5. I think it’s marvelous, Sylvia. It definitely needs some gulls and then it will be perfect. How tacky of the other students to take all the teacher’s attention, but perhaps she/he thought you were doing quite well on your own? Take it as a compliment perhaps?

  6. I think you should be well pleased with your painting Sylvia ! I would be .
    The shadows , misty water and rocks are really lovely πŸ™‚

  7. If only my camera could capture what you have achieved with that brush!!! I had no idea about your classes, Sylvia. I thought that your sister is the only painter in close family. This has left me speechless – good speechless πŸ˜€ What song would go with this creation? And, thank you so very much for this wonderful surprise!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

