Feathers on Friday: A gorgeous neighbour at the new house.

Introducing one of our new neighbours who roosts in the trees alongside the lake outside our ‘renovator’s nightmare’ house.

DSCN2187

If you’re wondering what that white stuff is below the branch where he perches, the polite term is ‘guano’. I think this must be his favourite ablution spot.

DSCN2198

You may remember that I said I was going to scrape off bathroom wallpaper this week? I have to confess that I didn’t actually get around to it, but as I hate to tell untruths, I’m going back with hubby after lunch to have a go. A really great way to spend a Friday afternoon, don’t you agree? Wishing you all a super weekend. Only 12.5 days to Christmas!

 

 

 

88 comments on “Feathers on Friday: A gorgeous neighbour at the new house.

  1. What a beauty! This time of the year, all I see in my yard are a few, stalwart sparrows and maybe a pigeon or two. The rest have all left for your neck of the woods. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, we do get some superb birds down here, John. I was at the nature reserve yesterday evening, and there were so many different ones. What a treat to see them all! ๐Ÿ™‚ No sparrows or pigeons though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Think of all the fun you’ll have watching these delightful neighbors while you scrape away at that wallpaper. Renovation is always a nightmare as far as I’m concerned, but I know you’re going to love it when it’s done.

  3. You have all the cool neighbours – I’ll be honest, my neighbours suck! The whole lot of them. Did you win the struggle against the evil wallpaper? Using all chemicals to make it easier or is it all elbow-grease?

    Have a good weekend, too! Try not to overdo it, eh?

    • I definitely won’t swap the birds for your neighbours. They sound worse than the one we had in SA. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I did win the battle with a water spray and a scraper. Looks much better now, but still need to scrape off the paint that was underneath the paper. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I won’t do it this weekend. Going to party instead.

      • You sure about the neighbours? In that case – can I give them to a starving cannibal family? Or would the indigestion to them be inhumane?

        Ouch! Time to bring in the paint stripper and anti-fume masks?

        Party! Party! Anyone jumping out of a cake?

  4. That is funny that he did his “guano” there and still stayed at the place to look around. I guess that is different than human that go away from the place when business is done ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you have fun while scraping the wallpaper and good exercise.

  5. The composition is fantastic. I like the white color of his necessary issue against the dark background. The bird pops out while viewing. ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Hope you ringers are recuperating nicely from the wallpaper chore. One day you will look back and say โ€ฆ ‘It was all worth it’. ๐Ÿ˜ณ
    Happy Weekend โ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  6. Enjoy your bathroom project, Sylvia and remember to whistle while you work. ๐Ÿ™‚ At least you have help, be thankful for that. Ah! Christmas? Who needs reminding? ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

