Floral Friday Foto: My brave orchid

Last year, hubby bought me a beautiful orchid, and when we left to go back to South Africa for six months, I planted it out in the garden and just hoped for the best. When we got back, it looked like just a couple of dead sticks, but last week, I noticed it had started to come to life again. I was so thrilled that it had resurrected itself after so many months of neglect.

DSCN3214

Thank you so much to all of you who wished me good luck yesterday. I’m sorry to report that our expedition to Fort Myers wasn’t a great success. When I walked in the door, the woman who had done my fingerprints previously, asked, “What are you doing back here again?” She couldn’t understand why the ink prints she’d done, hadn’t been accepted, as they looked fine to her. I asked if there was a good reason why we’d been summoned to their office, two and half hours drive from where we live, rather than out local Palm Beach USCIS. She didn’t know, but went off to have a word with her superior, who invited us into his office for a chat. What a charming man this officer was. He said the only reason he could think of, was that as their office was quite new and very quiet, someone had decided that they needed more traffic, without considering the inconvenience caused to people such as ourselves. He also said that I should never have been asked to go back for more fingerprinting, as, if two sets of prints aren’t acceptable, there is a different approach to be taken. He is sending an e-mail to whoever is in charge of our application, and advised me in the mean time to go to my local police station to get a clearance certificate saying that I haven’t been involved in any criminal activity since we’ve been living here in Florida. As I was there, they scanned my fingers once again, and only one print was acceptable. What a business this has turned out to be, but I’m sure it will all turn out okay in the end. The delays are such a pain though, as we need to book our flights back to South Africa to make sure we’re there for my mom’s 90th in May. Everything else is fine with our application, except for my elusive fingerprints. I guess I’ll just have to keep calm and hope for the best.

87 comments on “Floral Friday Foto: My brave orchid

  1. Great to see your orchid blooming again! I hope the fingerprint saga has a successful and good conclusion!
    Thanks for participating in Floral Friday Fotos, hope to see your new contributions this week.

  2. Your orchid’s revival gives me hope that my orchid will come to life again soon. The other day I came across my son’s birth record from the hospital. It was fun to see his tiny footprints on the form. Perhaps the authorities should be taking our footprints not our fingerprints. Perhaps the authorities should be thinking of an identification process that has less gender bias.

  3. I have illusive fingerprints, too. Vince wanted me to get my real estate license a few years back. I took all the practice tests, and was ready to go, but I went back two or three times, and still not fingerprints. I didn’t want to sell real estate anyway, so it was a good excuse to quit. πŸ™‚ Sorry you had the same experience so far away. Live scans, I think they are called, don’t work very well for many of us. 😦

  4. Why are they doing this to you Sylvia? Himself had to jump through hoops before he went to the States but it was pretty straightforward after he got there. I’m sure it will all be resolved soon.

    • I have no idea why. It’s not like I’m trying to enter the country illegally. I think they’re being overly pedantic abut the fingerprints. Even the woman who did mine, told me that she and the other two women in the office also don’t have scannable prints. πŸ˜•

  5. The orchid is gorgeous! A brave survivor and a beauty. The finger print business is just an unfortunate delay, there’s always a way around it. I’m sure you’ll be good to go on your trip in May.

  6. Orchids are not very demanding – but this is a joy to hear. It really looks great on the photo as well. Hopefully the application will work out all right as soon as possible. I didn’t know you had to leave fingerprints…? Still, today?

    • Very true. They are quite easy to look after, and are so beautiful. πŸ™‚ Yes, we need fingerprints, photo, signature, full medicals with shots for a variety of diseases, and a whole lot of personal information, before they’ll give us permanent residence. It’s been quite a long process, but we’re almost there, except for my silly fingerprints. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m starting to wonder what’s in those paints you’re playing with?!?! Or maybe the brush cleaners? I’m sure you’ll get it all worked out and you’ll be off to a May celebration.
    Good luck with the orchid too. πŸ˜‰

  8. Your lovely orchid will still be there when all this palaver is over and out of the way. One wonders if the FBI have nowt better to do with their time … I always associate orchids with romance. When I flew back to Sydney from NZ partner met me at the airport with an orchid πŸ™‚

  9. Beautiful Orchid, look on the bright side, at least you did’nt have to sneak into the country on a train or in the hold of an overcrowded ship.. πŸ™‚
    Hope you and your hubby have a great Valentines day..

  10. I think that orchid is sturdy giving it the right condition such as Fl. I am sure you are thrill to see it.

    Too bad that your experiences about fingerprinting does not come out ok. I hope it is fine now.

  11. Oh my goodness how frustrating! We just had our fingerprints and iris scan done for Nexus for ease of traveling between Canada and the U.S. No problems at all. You would think it would all be the same technology.

  12. The orchid is lovely and as I’m sure you know, they are the kind we can buy here, so I have several!
    You must have been seething taking that journey again for nothing 😦

    • Thanks, Gilly. Yes we’ve bought a few orchids for family whilst visiting the UK. I love the word, “seething.” There was really no-one there to seethe at, as they had all done their jobs properly. It’s the unseen ones at the end of the line that I would love to talk seethingly to, but they are very elusive and anonymous. πŸ™‚

  13. Orchids are funny plants aren’t they? I’ve thrown them out when I should have kept them, would look like yours now. They are so beautiful. As for the finger-prints, what an awful nuisance. I do hope it gets sorted out soon Sylvia. Despite all that, I hope you have a lovely weekend, hugs to you… πŸ™‚ xx

  14. Oh my! What mess! Yes, all you can do is hope it turns out fine and have faith. I can’t imagine what you are going through. Maybe this process will turn out like the Orchid. An ugly stick blooms into a gorgeous flower. Hang in there!

  15. What a pain! I hate it when you do everything that you should and find out somebody doesn’t do what they should. Grrrr. I guess be thankful that it wasn’t more than just a little internal mistake and all will hopefully end happily ever after. πŸ™‚

  16. Oh gosh, I’m sorry to hear your having these problems, Sylvia. When I was fingerprinted for my job, I was told that only one finger had a half-way decent print. I asked her if she’d seen this before and she said yes, but typically with doctors and nurses who always scrub their hands. I suppose my compulsive hand washing has washed my prints down the drain too. πŸ™‚ Hang in there, you’ll get it straightened out.
    Your orchid is beautiful!

  17. Dang, sorry you had to go through so much headache to get papers and stuff processed :O though I think your Orchid is telling you that perseverance is paying off huh? πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

