Day 4 of B&W 5 Day challenge: Get me to the church on time

I have a much happier photo for my 4th day of the ‘5 Day B&W Photo Challenge’. Still in Italy, and on our first morning in Florence, we had a guided walk around the ‘City of the Flowers’.  As we emerged into the Via dei Calzaiuoli, we were both amused and delighted to see this exuberant bridegroom-to-be, being transported to his wedding by his enthusiastic groomsmen. I think this image looks so much better in monochrome, as the background and other people just seem to fade away, leaving the main characters as the focus of attention.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks Issy of Isadora Art and Photography for asking me to take part in the 5 Day B&W Photo Challenge.

There are only two rules for this challenge:

1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

I’m not sure who has already been nominated for this challenge, and of course it’s entirely voluntary, so today I’m inviting any of my readers who would like to do the challenge, to have a go. Of the three people I’ve already chosen, only one has responded positively, so I hesitate to choose someone else. To quote James Dean, “Remember: Life is short, break the rules (they  were made to be broken).”

49 comments on “Day 4 of B&W 5 Day challenge: Get me to the church on time

  1. You nailed it! B&W minimizes distractions of the main subject. Love love love the moment you captured. I better not one of the carrier. Instead of going to church, he might get carried to the hospital. Ahihihi 😀

  2. I agree with you .. the people fading away because of the monochrome helps the groom-to-be standout. He looks quite happy about what’s about to happen. Maybe, he had a few glasses of vino. LOL
    Thank you for taking on the challenge, Sylvia. I was a little lucky with my nominations. I had 4 out of 5 participate. Oh well … perhaps, breaking the rule is best. 😄
    Have a GREAT weekend !!!

  3. I smiled when I saw this – and “amused and delighted” fit the first take – and I agree that after looking I also love the b & W – front eh buildings to his jacket –

Comments can start a conversation. :)

