Clouds from both sides for Ed’s challenge

“Bows and flows of angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere
I’ve looked at clouds that way.”  ~ Joni Mitchell

Oh how I love looking at clouds! Like snowflakes, each one is different and totally unique. They’re ever-changing, and we never get the same one back again. Maybe that’s why they are photographed so much. Here are just a few that have caught my attention over the years.

Sunrise over the Indian Ocean in my home town of Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa

Sunrise over the Indian Ocean in my home town of Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa

Clouds over La Paz as we drove down from El Alto airport.

Clouds over La Paz in Bolivia, as we drove down from El Alto airport.

Clouds at Sunset Beach, Hawaii.

Clouds at Sunset Beach, Hawaii.

Clouds over the OK Corral, Tombstone Arizona

Clouds over the OK Corral, Tombstone Arizona

Clouds over Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Clouds over Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Clouds over a volcano in Ecuador.

Clouds over a volcano in Ecuador.

Clouds in the water at Green Cay Wetlands, Florida.

Cloud reflections at Green Cay Wetlands, Florida.

Clouds over Venice Lagoon at sunset.

Clouds over Venice Lagoon at sunset.

Above the clouds en route to England.

Above the clouds en route to England.

A classic Florida sunset with clouds of course.

A classic Florida sunset…. with clouds of course.

I’d better stop now, before I get too carried away. You’ve probably got the message though, that I really do love clouds.

Wishing you all a fantastic weekend, and if you’re up in the frozen north, do keep warm. My son sent me a photo of his house yesterday. No clouds, but tons of snow to shovel before he could even drive up to it. I feel quite guilty down here in Florida, with temperatures in the high 80’s.

11049483_10153201722010362_1816244269622412059_n

To join in Ed’s cloud challenge, just click here.

73 comments on “Clouds from both sides for Ed’s challenge

  1. Beauiful photos all Sylvia. Clouds are amazing aren’t they, all the different formations they produce. Love the cloud reflections too.Amazing to think of all the snow your son and his family are having at the moment, when the sun is shining here and the daffodils are coming into bloom already. But nothing like as warm as where you are 😉 Have a wonderful weekend 🙂 xx

  2. I suspect that you might know how much I love clouds, too? Love every one of your shots! Sending sympathy to your son and his family. All those blizzards must be getting really old by now.

  3. It’s no secret, I am a cloud fan too… your photos of clouds from all over the world would make a good coffee table book.

  4. I love clouds too …. since I was a child when I together with my granddad tried to find figures in them. Love to fly above the clouds – they are so fluffy and soft. Fab images as always. My favorite image here … is the winter images … so beautiful.

  5. I love that Joni Mitchel song and these images are jaw dropping. Hard ot pick my fave but the clouds reflecting in the water really jumped out at me. It’s a warm sunny day here. Could spring be here?

    • Yay for you with the warm sunny day! Mind you, I know that what you Canadians might call ‘warm’, is quite different from my idea of warm. I really hope my son gets some better weather too. He is so over the NJ winter this year. It’s been brutal.

  6. Such beautiful cloudscapes Sylvia! Especially love that first sunset. Your son’s house looks picture perfect, but it makes me wonder how one copes with that much snow!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

