A stealthy visitor to my backyard

I’d been wondering why there was a noticeable lack of bird life around the lake today. Late this afternoon when Mr. A came cruising past my back yard, the mystery was solved.

DSCN3616

Unfortunately he wouldn’t come close enough for a decent photo, and headed off towards the other side. One lone cormorant flew down to the water quite close to where Mr A was lurking.Β  After splashing around for a minute or so, he suddenly took off like a bat out of Hell,Β  and who could blame him?

89 comments on “A stealthy visitor to my backyard

  1. Ahh…no wonder it’s been quiet lately. Sneaky Mr A…hope he doesn’t stay too long for the bird’s sake πŸ˜‰ Now I keep hearing the theme tune from Jaws for some reason πŸ˜‰ xx

  2. Almost a Loch Ness look a like..? πŸ˜€

    Saw once on a wildlife recording – a jaguar hunt and catch an alligator – so maybe the dog or cat should be complemented by a jaguar too – so the alligators keep the distance… πŸ™‚

  3. The few times I’ve been to Florida, I didn’t even like those teeny lizards everywhere. Never did see an Alligator and wouldn’t want to.

    • I’m not keen on the teeny lizards getting into my house. I shared my shower with one the other day. By the time I saw it, I was already in the middle of washing my hair. Hubby wasn’t here to rescue me, so I just had to grit my teeth and be very careful not to wake Lizzie up. 😦

  4. Oh wow – I see that alligators can live anywhere from 30 to 50 years with an average length length of up to 2.7 meters! Okay…staying away from the water and planning on how to appease the beast.

    • About 35 feet. πŸ˜€ Hubby just offered to go out in the dark and pace it out for me so I could answer your question, but I didn’t think it wise, with an alligator lurking somewhere. 😯

      • Oh My !!! I am so sorry !!!! 😦 I will be scared even if it were 100 feet,so approximation doesn’t matter ! I do hope you have strong boundary walls so that they don’t sneak in, can’t you report them to forest/animal department, so that they can rehabilitate from human-residing areas to pure forest zones ?

      • Unless you are a forest officer yourself, I must say you are one of the bravest people to live on places like this !!!!!!!!

  5. Dear Sylvia,
    I’ve heard that alligators have made a spectacular comeback in Florida, and that they have turned into a very big and dangerous problem, with them crawling out of canals and waterways into backyards, eating pets, etc. Be careful!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

