Ancient Walls for the WPC

“…there must have been days of light gravity in old times, when people could play tiddlywinks with huge chunks of stone.”Β  ~ Kurt Vonnegut

When one encounters the massive walls built by the ancient Egyptians with none of today’s technology and tools, one can’t help but agree with the sentiment expressed in the above quote.

IMG_0015

IMG_0040

IMG_0039

IMG_0018

IMG_0038

To see more walls for this weeks WordPress Photo Challenge, click the badge below.

image7

82 comments on “Ancient Walls for the WPC

  1. Lovley challenge for the wall, I have always wanted to do to Egypt to se Hatchepsuts temlpe and the pyramids. Great, and I’m a little jealous πŸ˜‰

  2. Absolutely amazing Sylvia and you’re right about the quote. πŸ˜† I’ve always admired the Egyptian art and drawings. What a treat that must have been. πŸ˜€
    Thanks for sharing the lovely time you had hon. β™₯

  3. I am fascinated when people start to work out HOW these coul have been put together. There must have been an amazing understanding of may prnciples we take for granted today, but with less materials to imlement tem.

  4. These things are amazing till these days. I have seen people tried to proof how these could be built back then but I am still not convinced. I think Kurt Vonnegut might be right.

  5. I always feel so small and humble when I visit these places (I’ve worked quite a bit in Egypt over the years) and in awe for the skills of these builders! Magnificent pictures!

  6. It is very worrying to hear that IS want to destroy places like this in Iraq and Syria and now Libya – so much history that belongs to humanity and can never ever be replaced. Sad days…

    • Oh yes, I’m so saddened by the wanton destruction of these historic places. The world has become a very different place these days. I do hope that IS can be stopped, but I’m not holding my breath. 😦

Comments can start a conversation. :)

