A Pre-dinner Alligator

Yesterday evening, just after I popped my salmon fillets into the oven, I happened to look out across the lake. The water level is quite low at the moment, and a ledge of rock has been exposed. A tri-coloured heron was standing looking down at the ledge, which seemed to have grown a few scales.

DSCN3753

The lazily reclining alligator appeared to have grown quite a bit since I last saw him.

DSCN3755

I stood watching him for a few minutes and then the oven pinged, so I went back inside to rescue the salmon before it overcooked. When I looked again two minutes later, Mr. A had disappeared.

DSCN3757

I assumed he’d gone home for the night and I started to make the salad, but something told me to just have one more look out of the window. There he was again, and heading in my direction. When hubby arrived home from his renovating, he found me standing rather close to the edge of the lake, taking a few closeups.

DSCN3770

This morning there’s no sign of him, but that doesn’t mean to say he’s not here. I’ll keep an eye out.

Wishing you all a splendid weekend, and very happy Easter or Passover if you are celebrating.

86 comments on “A Pre-dinner Alligator

  1. Dear Sylvia, I have to say I would be very uncomfortable living in the midst of alligator country! These are great shots. Watch your back, and your toes. I hope your Easter was a happy one!

  2. Too close if you ask me. But – I probably would have done the same thing. And – God help me if I fell – as I don’t swim. EEEK!

  3. Gee AD. Are ‘gators any where as dangerous as crocodiles? With the ability to launch themselves ten feet at the speed of light??? Do tread carefully – we don’t want to lose you :-).

  4. Oh my Cats, you have alligators around the house…I’m out of here….
    Pawkisses for an eggstra Happy Easter and hope your Easter Bunny Day is filled with fun in every way πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. He is one sneaky fellow isn’t he? Like that he gave you that close up though πŸ˜‰ Probably hoping for some of you delicious salmon! Happy Easter dear Sylvia, have a wonderful time πŸ™‚ xx

  6. This was a big surprise when I first went to Florida Sylvia, to see aligators like this in residential areas.. you all seem to rub along OK though.. πŸ™‚

  7. Mr A does look likes he’s sizing you up Sylvia !
    Take care near the edge . Happy eater …oops Easter πŸ™‚

  8. Great captures! He is a biggie now and they are fast too, so don’t go too close. You want to make dinner, not to be the dinner πŸ™‚

  9. Mr. A. had better just move his tail to some other part of the lake, if he knows what’s good for him. I hear gator leather shoes and handbags never go out of style.

    • I’m sure you’re right. If he appears once too often, it’s possible that some of the neighbours might get nervous and call in the trapper, as happened with the last one a couple of years ago. 😦

Comments can start a conversation. :)

