My Friday Photos

Well the end of the week has finally arrived, and I’m so excited, because on Tuesday, our three little grandchildren arrive from NJ with their mom, and on Thursday our son joins them for a long weekend. I’m going to be very busy baking cookies and preparing their rooms. I’ve bought each of them a little painting set and colouring books, but I have a feeling that if the weather is good, they’d rather be out at the pool.

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t been on the blogs as much as usual. That’s because I’ve been fiddling around with my paintings. I darkened the blue background for the Great Blue Heron, and touched up his feathers a bit.

DSCN3950

I redid my little white birds a zillion times in this Florida swamp scene, which meant I had to keep redoing the foliage to hide the older versions.

DSCN3952

I had a go at Mr. Pelican and just couldn’t get his head right. It was much too big and bulbous, so I had to paint out the excess head with black, until I was a bit happier with theΒ  shape. He wouldn’t fool a real pelican, but I think he’s rather cute.

DSCN3948

Here’s a photo taken the other evening when we visited the Wakodahatchee Wetlands. Mr. GBH looked like he’d had a really rough day in the marsh, then he got home and found someone had been messing in his patch!Β  I hope this isn’t how you feel by the end of the week.

Who's been messing in MY patch?!!

Who’s been messing in MY patch?!!

Wishing you all a relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

109 comments on “My Friday Photos

  1. That vivid blue sky in the painting looks just about right. When I did (tried to do) the same thing with my heron photo in Lightroom hubby said it was too blue. However, I am sure he would like your painting. And you gave it to your grand-daughter. Well, next time I will shout before her πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Sunday Stills: Painting ‘from this to that’ | anotherdayinparadise

  3. What a fun hobbie, painting. I enjoyed seeing all of your prints. My Mom started painting very late in her life, just something to do. I have one of her paintings of a Cajun Cabin, which I treasure. Who knows perhaps one day your grandkids will be saying the same thing. Enjoy doing what you love!

  4. G’day Sylvia I am slowly getting back to visit my blogging buddies after a few weeks absence and pleased to see how your painting is coming along. It looks as though you may become addicted…

  5. You’re quite the arteeeeest!
    Poor Mr. GBH – he does look a bit rough. Great capture though.

    Have a wonderful weekend with your family!
    {Hugs}

  6. Lovely paintings! You really have a knack for playing with water colours and if you didn’t mention it I would never have guessed you adjusted Mr Pelican’s head. Flawless. Haha at the last photo…I’m usually jumping up and down at the end of the week unlike Mr GBH πŸ˜€

  7. sounds like grandma time will be fun no matter what you end up doing πŸ™‚

    and I like you latest updates – the great blue heron seems to have a slight glow – and I love it. I also cannot recall the “exact” earlier version of the swamp – but the bird spook great and whew – I bet it took patience to redo them. lastly, the pelican is really cute – and I love the lines throughout the painting – in his feathers – in the foliage and even the branches –

    and no – I don’t feel like the Mr GBH so much – not this week – but I like that “story” to go with the photo. πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ enjoying this month so much already – and I know it partly has to do with the long winter we had – everything is late to bloom and after so much snow in March – well spring truly has never felt more welcome. soaking it up – and I am also going to paint this weekend – keep ya posted…

        xxoo

  8. Blogs and devices keep us from doing so many things, so it is wonderful you are painting. Love the character names.
    Thinking of you as you bake and prepare for your cherished “guests”. How lovely. You are making memories. xxoo Ruth

  9. What fun to get your grandkids visiting! Your paintings are really good. My favorite is the swamp scene, it captures the Florida atmosphere perfectly. I was trying to see if Mr. A was there somewhere, but can’t be sure πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend…and a week full of fun!!

  10. Your painting should be useful with the grandchildren as well. I always painted with my children, but have no grandchildren yet…I like the swamp very much – it has got fine atmosphere and feeling. The heron in strong colours – I like him! I agree on mr Pelican being cute indeed, and you are doing well with the green.
    I wish you a great time with your grandchildren and their parents!

  11. Great Blue Heron looks slightly surreal, I like the effect. I’ve always like the swamp picture, have you thought about posting your different versions up together for nosy lazy people like me? Mr Pelican looks like a hunchback, do they really look like that? I don’t know. And lovely photo to end with. I don’t know how you find the time. Please share recipe.

  12. Oh Sylvia I think your swamp scene is lovely …love that luminous light and the water colour below your little birds has lots of turquoise depth …
    Have fun with the family am sure they will enjoy their visit …. lots to show and tell …
    Poor Mr GBH … he do look a trifle ruffled by it all πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

