Five Photos, Five Stories: Happy Mothers’ Day

Elaine of  ‘I used to be indecisive’ blog, has nominated me to do the ‘5 Photos, 5 Stories’ challenge. Here’s my first photo, with the story behind it.

My mom and sister are in South Africa, and today sister went to visit mom for Mothers’ Day. She sent me this photo of mom with the flowers from me and a delicious chocolate cake, for which my sister is famous.

11160009_845890608779365_725577966066738979_n

I set my alarm for 5am so that I could phone mom before she had lunch and went for her afternoon nap. She could hardly talk as her voice is very weak, but I was able to wish her a happy Mothers’ Day, and tell her how much I love her. Those of you who follow my blog will know that it’s mom’s 90th birthday on 26th of this month, and that I’m keeping my fingers crossed that our Green Cards will arrive in time for us to travel over to be there for the celebration.

Wishing all you Moms a very happy day today.

The challenge is quite simply to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”. My nomination today is Lisa of Northwest Frame of Mind blog, who always has interesting images to share. Of course, there’s no obligation to join in. It’s entirely up to you.

90 comments on “Five Photos, Five Stories: Happy Mothers’ Day

  1. I remember your sister’s famed chocolate cake! Oh what a lovely photo Sylvia, I hope that by now you have had news of your Green Cards being approved? And I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day 🙂 xx

  2. So nice to still be able to keep in touch with your mom.
    Imagine how hard that would have been back in her day.

    Keeping my fingers, toes & eyes crossed for you to get your resident cards so that you could go visit your mom for her bday.

    Happy Mother’s Day (Because we are mom’s every day!)
    {Hugs}

  3. I think the cards came about a week after the letter, if I remember correctly. You should be fine. Keeping my fingers crossed you’ll be able to delight your mother with a visit on her birthday.

  4. Hope you had lovely Mother’s Day. I forgot all about it even though I spent the afternoon with my son! I had my Mother’s Day in March. 🙂 Fingers crossed for your GC.

  5. That’s a lovely happy photo there, Sylvia 🙂
    I always get confused by the date of your Mother’s Day. In the UK it happened weeks ago. Wasn’t able to see my mother or my daughter on the day, although my daughter sent me a pink begonia in a fancy pot and a teddy bear, to join the other teddy that sits on top of the printer in my office.

  6. What a nice photo of your mom and sister. Hope it all works out and you arrive in time for her 90th birthday. Will your sister be making her cake? Looks yummy! 🙂 Hope you had a nice Mother’s Day, Sylvia.

    • Thanks, Geralyn. Yes I did have a wonderful Mothers’ Day. I’m sure my sister will make a birthday cake big enough to share with all the other residents of the home where Mom lives. 🙂

  7. Sylvia I’m so glad you were able to speak to your Mom. Thank you for sharing the sweet photo of your sister and Mom. I continue to hope for green card delivery. hugs to you.

  8. What a lovely photo of your mom and sister! The chocolate cake looks wonderful and thanks so much for the kind nomination! I’m not sure if I can get 5 posts in this week but I’ll have my 7 image weekly recap ready to share later today…maybe it can count for the image/story challenge. 🙂

  9. Thank you for sharing this beautiful photo, Sylvia! I’ll keep you in my prayers that the Green Cards will arrive in time to celebrate with your beautiful mother. Happy Mother’s Day! xo

  10. Fingers and toes all crossed. Your mum reminds me of my mother too! Hope you had a special mothers day also! 🙂

  11. Lovely photo aren’t we so lucky to live in this age of instant – well most times – communication . Another milestone just round the corner Sylvia .. I’m so sure you’ll all make it .Sending positive vibes xx

Comments can start a conversation. :)

